2015 Mountain West Football Preseason All-Conference Team

2015 Media Day Central
Follow @MountainWest on Twitter Twitter | Watch the Mountain West Network
Download the MW iOS App in the App Store | Download the MW Android App in Google Play

LAS VEGAS - The 2015 Preseason All-Mountain West Football Team was announced today at the league's annual Media Days, being held at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas. The team, as selected by members of the media, features 18 student-athletes who were All-MW selections in 2014, including nine first-team honorees. The 25-member squad is comprised of 17 seniors, seven juniors and one sophomore.

Colorado State junior wide receiver Rashard Higgins was named Preseason MW Offensive Player of the Year, while Utah State senior linebacker Kyler Fackrell was selected MW Defensive Player of the Year. San Diego State senior placekicker Donny Hageman garnered Preseason MW Special Teams Player of the Year honors.

Higgins, a junior, was a 2014 consensus first-team All-American after leading the country with 1,750 receiving yards and 17 touchdown receptions. The native of Dallas, Texas, is one of three players nationally to be named to the 2015 Maxwell Award Watch List, Biletnikoff Award Pre-Season Watch List and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List. He was one of three finalists for the Biletnikoff Award in 2014.

Fackrell is returning to the Aggies' starting lineup after missing all but one quarter of the 2014 season following a knee injury suffered in Utah State's season-opening game at Tennessee. In 2013, Fackrell was a 2013 All-MW second-team honoree. He was third on Utah State in tackles with 82, while his 13 tackles for loss (minus-43 yards) led the team. Fackrell recorded five sacks, forced two fumbles and came away with one interception in 2013.

In his lone season at San Diego State, Hageman converted 20-of-25 field goal attempts and was a perfect 37-for-37 on PATs in 2014. Hageman's 80 percent accuracy on field goal kicks ranked second in the MW and tied for 30th in the FBS. He also averaged 62.7 yards per kickoff on 19 attempts (1,192 yards) with five touchbacks. From Sept. 6-Oct. 18, made eight straight field goals. His 97 points in 2014 ranked second on the team.

QB Chuckie Keeton Sr. Utah State
WR Rashard Higgins* Jr. Colorado State
WR Devonte Boyd** So. UNLV
RB Donnel Pumphrey* Jr. San Diego State
RB Marteze Waller** Sr. Fresno State
OL Marcus Henry* Sr. Boise State
OL Rees Odhiambo** Sr. Boise State
OL Alex Fifita Sr. Fresno State
OL Ben Clarke Sr. Hawai'i
OL Pearce Slater Sr. San Diego State
TE Steven Walker* Sr. Colorado State
DL Alex Hansen** Sr. Air Force
DL Kamalei Correa* Jr. Boise State
DL Ian Seau** Sr. Nevada
DL Eddie Yarbrough* Sr. Wyoming
LB Tanner Vallejo** Jr. Boise State
LB Kyler Fackrell Sr. Utah State
LB Nick Vigil* Jr. Utah State
DB Weston Steelhammer* Jr. Air Force
DB Donte Deayon** Sr. Boise State
DB Darian Thompson* Sr. Boise State
DB Damontae Kazee** Jr. San Diego State
P Alex Boy** Sr. Nevada
PK Donny Hageman Sr. San Diego State
Ret. Carlos Wiggins Sr. New Mexico
Preseason Offensive Player of the Year:
Rashard Higgins, Jr., WR, Colorado State
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year:
Kyler Fackrell, Sr., LB, Utah State
Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year:
Donny Hageman, Sr., PK, San Diego State
* - member of the 2014 All-Mountain West first team.
** - member of the 2014 All-Mountain West second team.