Boise State, San Diego State, Picked to Win 2016 Mountain West Football Divisional Titles

MWN Video Release | 2016 Media Day Central
Follow @MountainWest on Twitter Twitter | Watch the Mountain West Network
Download the MW iOS App in the App Store | Download the MW Android App in Google Play

LAS VEGAS - Boise State was chosen to finish atop the Mountain Division, while defending Mountain West champion San Diego State was predicted to win the West Division title, announced today by the Mountain West at its annual Media Days, being held at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas.

This marks the fourth season of divisional play for the Conference, which moved to the two, six-team divisional format in 2013 following the additions of San José State and Utah State. The Mountain Division is comprised of Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming, while Fresno State, Hawai‘i, Nevada, San Diego State, San José State and UNLV make up the West Division. The two divisional winners will meet in the MW Championship Game on Dec. 3, 2016 at the home stadium of the divisional champion with the highest College Football Playoff Committee ranking.

Boise State, which has been predicted to win the Mountain Division the last three seasons, finished 2015 with a 5-3 Conference record. The Broncos, who are coming off a 55-7 victory over Northern Illinois in the 2015 San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl, received 27 of a possible 29 first-place votes and earned a total of 172 points. Third-year head coach Bryan Harsin returns 14 starters from 2015, including eight on offense and four on defense.

San Diego State was a unanimous first-place pick in the West Division, garnering all 29 first-place votes and 174 total points. The Aztecs are only the second unanimous preseason pick in MW history and first since 2010 (TCU). SDSU posted an 8-0 league record in 2015 to capture the West Division. They defeated Mountain Division champion Air Force 27-24 in the 2015 Sports Authority Mountain West Football Championship Game. The Aztecs followed that up with a 42-7 victory in the Hawai‘i Bowl over Cincinnati. Head Coach Rocky Long returns 14 starters, including senior running back Donnel Pumphrey, the 2015 MW Offensive Player of the Year, Damontae Kazee, the 2015 MW Defensive Player of the Year and Rashaad Penny, 2015 MW Special Teams Player of the Year.

Air Force received two first-place votes and 126 points for second place in the Mountain Division, with Utah State's 111 points good for third place. Colorado State (95), New Mexico (74) and Wyoming (31) round out the Mountain Division poll.

Nevada's 129 points were good for second place in the West Division. San José State was third with 122 points, followed by Fresno State (76), UNLV (73) and Hawai‘i (35)

Rk. Team (first-place votes) Pts.
1. Boise State (27) 172
2. Air Force (2) 126
3. Utah State 111
4. Colorado State 95
5. New Mexico 74
6. Wyoming 31
Rk. Team (first-place votes) Pts.
1. San Diego State (29) 174
2. Nevada 129
3. San José State 122
4. Fresno State 76
5. UNLV 73
6. Hawai‘i 35