Mountain West Football Weekly Release

Complete Release in PDF Format | @MountainWest on Twitter Twitter
2015 Schedule | Standings | Stats | Media Guide | Mountain West Network |

Friday, November 27
TV/Web Time Satellite Radio
Boise State at San José State*
CBS Sports Network
12:30 p.m. PT

Saturday, November 28
TV/Web Time Satellite Radio
UNLV at Wyoming*
Noon MT
SIRIUS 93/XM 202
BYU at Utah State
CBS Sports Network
1:30 p.m. MT
SIRIUS 143/XM 143
Colorado State at Fresno State*
CBS Sports Network
6 p.m. PT

Louisiana-Monroe at Hawai‘i
TWC Oceanic/MWN
6 p.m. HT

Nevada at San Diego State*
7:45 p.m. PT
SIRIUS 108/XM 108
Air Force at New Mexico*
8:15 p.m. MT


Air Force and San Diego State will play in the 2015 Sports Authority Mountain West Football Championship Game on Saturday, December 5. Kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. MT/4:30 p.m. PT/2:30 p.m. HT and will be televised on ESPN2.

Air Force clinched the Mountain Division crown by virtue of its 37-30 victory at Boise State last Friday, combined with Colorado State’s 28-21 win over New Mexico in Albuquerque on Saturday. The Falcons are currently 6-1 in MW play (8-3 overall) and have a two-game lead over Boise State and New Mexico with one contest remaining in the regular season. Air Force is seeking its first Mountain West football title and fourth overall league crown. The last time the Falcons won a conference football championship was in 1998 when they defeated BYU 20-13.

San Diego State secured the West Division after Utah State’s 31-27 victory over Nevada last Saturday. The Aztecs are 7-0 in MW play (8-3 overall) and currently have a three-game lead in the division with one contest remaining. SDSU is in search of its first outright Mountain West football championship. It would also be the Aztecs first outright football title overall since 1986.

Air Force and San Diego State did not meet this season. The Falcons hold a 19-14 series advantage over the Aztecs, including an 11-6 record at home.  SDUS holds the advantage in San Diego, 8-7 and is currently riding a 5-game win streak in the series with Air Force.

The 2015 Sports Authority Mountain West Football Championship will be played at the home stadium of the higher-ranked divisional champion according the selected computer polls, which will be determined on Sunday, Nov. 29.


Air Force head coach Troy Calhoun and San Diego State head coach Rocky Long will be available on the 2015 Sports Authority Mountain West Football Championship Game media teleconference on Mon., Nov. 30 at 12:30 p.m. MT / 11:30 a.m. PT. To receive the call-in number, please contact Javan Hedlund at 719-488-4051 or Both head coaches, as well as one offensive and one defensive player from each team, will also be available in-person on Fri., Dec. 5 prior to the Sports Authority MW Football Championship Game. Details will be made available by the Conference office.


Over the last 11 seasons, the Mountain West has captured the Bowl Challenge Cup four times and owns the second-best win percentage in bowl games among the 10 FBS conferences with a 31-23 mark (.574) during that span. The MW is the only conference to win the trophy four times since the award’s inception in 2002-03.

The Mountain West posted a 3-4 bowl record (.429) in 2014. Overall, the Mountain West has earned 69 bowl bids since 1999 and holds a 38-31 (.551) all-time record. The league has also posted an overall postseason mark of at least .500 in eight of the last 11 seasons.

2015 marks the eighth straight year the MW has sent at least five teams to bowls and 11th time since the league’s inception in 1999. It also marked the fourth straight season that six or more MW squads advanced to the postseason. In all three years since the Mountain West went to 12 teams and two divisions, it has had seven bowl-eligible teams to set a MW record.

Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, Nevada, New Mexico, San Diego State and Utah State are seven of the 71 teams in the FBS to have qualified for postseason in 2015.

The Falcons have qualified for the postseason in eight of the last nine years, while the Broncos have played in a bowl game in each of the last 13 seasons.  The Aztecs are bowl eligible for the sixth straight year, while the Rams qualify for the postseason for the third consective year. Wolf Pack are eligible for a bowl for the 10th time in the last 11 seasons and the Aggies have earn bowl-eligibility for a program record fifth straight time. The Lobos have reached the six win mark for the first time since 2007.

Air Force (8-3), Boise State (7-4), San Diego State (8-3), Colorado State (6-5), Nevada (6-5), New Mexico (6-5) and Utah State (6-5) are all bowl eligible this season.

(Notes from around the Mountain west in 140 characters or less)

  • .@AFFootball & @GoAztecs will meet in the 2015 Sports Authority MW Championship on Dec. 5. Host site will be determined on Nov. 29.
  • .@SJSUFootball is seeking bowl eligibility in Week 13. Entering the week, the @MountainWest has 7 bowl-eligible teams.
  • Seven @MountainWest bowl eligible teams ties a League record, set in 2014
  • The @MountainWest is home to 2 of the nation’s top 5 longest home win streaks in @USUFootball (14) and @AFAFootball (12).
  • .@GoAztecs 9-game Conference win streak is the 2nd-longest nationally, behind Western Kentucky.
  • .@GoAztecs have won 5 straight games by 23+ points, the longest streak nationally.
  • In 7 consecutive games, the @GoAztecs have rushed for more than 200 yards, the longest stretch in SDSU’s D-I history.
  • .@wyo_football RB Brian Hill ranks 9th nationally with 1,399 rushing yds and is 57 yds shy of program single-season record.
  • .@SJSUSpartanFB’s Tyler Ervin has rushed for 1,417 yards, which ranks 8th nationally. He is just the Spartans 11th 1,000-yard rusher.
  • .@GoAztecs Donnel Pumphrey ranks 10th among FBS rushers with 1,310 yds, making the MW the only FBS league w/ 3 players in top 10
  • .@BroncoSportsFB is second nationally with 20 INTs in 2015. @GoAztecs are 4th with 18 picks.
  • .@BroncoSportsFB’s Darian Thompson has 19 career INTs, a @MountainWest record.
  • .@BroncoSportsFB Thompson (19) & Donte Deayon (17) are 1st & T-3rd nationally in active career INTs. The starting BSU secondary leads the nation with 40 career INTs.
  • .@CSUFootball’s Rashard Higgins has caught at least one pass in 36 consecutive games, a streak which is T-9th in FBS & the most in the MW.
  • .@BroncoSportsFB QB Brett Rypien threw for a @MountainWest freshman record 503 yards vs. New Mexico on Nov. 14.
  • .@SJSUSpartanFB has been ranked in the top-5 nationally for pass defense each week since 9/20/14.
  • In its last 23 games, @SJSUSpartanFB has only allowed 126.8 passing yards per game.
  • .@SJSUSpartanFB’s Ervin is the 10th MW player to rush for at least 200 yards twice in a season. He rushed for 300 yds vs. FS & 263 vs. UNM.
  • The 300 rushing yards are the most in the FBS this season.
  • Ervin has 15 total TDs, 4 shy of the @SJSUSpartanFB record held by Johnny Johnson, Jr., who scored 19 times in 1988.
  • Senior @CSUFootball linebacker Cory James has 24 career sacks, only 4.5 away from tying the MW record, which was set in 2009.
  • James’ 24 career sacks are tied for fourth-most by an active FBS defender.
  • .@GoAztecs QB Maxwell Smith has attempted 161 consecutive passes without throwing an interception. 183 attempts will put Smith in MW top 5.
  • Boise State boasts the highest win percentage since 2000, having won 173 of 205 contests for a mark of .844.