New Mexico Captures Fourth Straight Willliam H. Tucker Intercolllegiate

Release courtesy of New Mexico Athletics

ALBUQUERQUE N.M. – The University of New Mexico Lobo Men's Golf Team aimed at capturing exclusivity today at the final round of the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate and thanks to strong, consistent play across the board the Lobos were able to do just that.
Eventual champion Andrej Bevins pieced together a solid round of 2-under (70) for the day on his way to completing the Tucker at 10-under with a three day total of 206. Bevins, after all but sealing a victory for the Lobos with an eagle three on the par-5 eighteenth Bevins described the feeling as "not getting much better than this."
The team was able to stretch out its already impressive lead of 14 shots after the first 36 holes, to 19 strokes by days end. Solid contributions from Samuel Kim(73-70-71-214; -2), and Gustavo Morantes (66-71-72-209), Morantes finished in a tie for third. Joseph Abella, a model for consistency, finished the tournament at even par (72-72-72-216).
The Lobos laid claim to the lowest team scores of the tournament both days and also had two team members ranked in the top five in total birdies in Andre Garcia (15) and Andrej Bevins (13). While Bevins also touted the top average in par-5 scoring (4.17) and ranked second in par-4 scoring behind Texas Tech's Hurly Long (3.93) with an average of 3.97.
Individual competition ended with the squad was able to steal away two top-5 spots thanks to the efforts of freshman Sean Carlon (73-73-77-223) and Benjamin Tolsma (75-71-78).
Head Coach Glen Millican, spoke on the changes that the course presented today namely dryness and pin position gave the team a "definite" advantage over the field "with our guys knowing that par is a great score."
The University of New Mexico Lobos Men's Golf Team is now in rare air, four consecutive victories at the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate matches a record previously held by the University of Houston, for 48 years.

Team Standings: 1. New Mexico, 279-276-285-840; -24 2. Texas Tech, 286-285-288-859; -5 T3. UNLV, 290-287-291-868; +4 T3. Colorado State, 289-280-299-868; +4 5. San Diego State, 290-294-288-872; +8 6. Wyoming, 294-291-297-882; +18 7. San Diego, 293-296-295-884; +20 8. New Mexico State, 293-296-298-887; +23 T9. TCU, 294-291-304-889; +25 T9. Bowling Green State, 298-293-298-889; +25 11. Colorado, 294-304-298-896; +32 12. Nevada, 301-294-302-897; +33 13. Louisiana Tech, 307-293-307-907; +43 14. Arizona, 301-305-305-911; +47 15. Texas El Paso, 307-302-307-916; +52 16. Denver, 306-294-319-919; +55
Individual Standings: 1. Giulio Castagnara, TCU (69-74-77-220) 2. Turner Maclean, TCU (76-73-73-222) 3. Sean Carlon, New Mexico (73-73-77) T4. Benjamin Tolsma, New Mexico (75-71-78-224) T4. PJ Samiere, San Diego State (74-76-74-224) 6. Evan Macias, Texas El Paso (74-73-79-226) 7. Redford Bobbit, UNLV (76-76-75-227) 8. Ryan Books, TCU (76-75-77-228) 9. Jason Fitzgerald, TCU (76-76-78-230) 10. Jordan Sanders, Texas Tech (79-73-79-231) 11. Tyler Moore, Arizona (79-74-79-232) 12. Isaac Alderete, New Mexico (75-80-79-234) 13. Pablo Matesanz, San Diego State (74-80-81-235) T14. Mark MacGrath, New Mexico (78-76-84-238) T14. Martin Lerrea, Arizona (82-80-81-238) 16. Kolton Lapa, Arizona (80-80-79-239) 17. Austin Stadeli, Arizona (79-82-80-241) 18. Joey Martinez, New Mexico State (79-81-85-245) 19. Mike McGilton, New Mexico State (80-84-82-246) 20. Adam Strom, Texas Tech (85-84-85-254)
Lobo Scorers: Andrej Bevins (68-68-70-206) Gustavo Morantes (66-71-72-209) Andre Garcia (73-67-74-214) Samuel Kim (73-70-71-214) Joseph Abella (72-72-72-216)