New Mexico's Elijah Brown Named to 2017 Jerry West Award Preseason Watch List

Courtesy of New Mexico Athletic Communications

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Redshirt junior guard Elijah Brown has been named as one of 20 finalists for the 2017 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Preseason Watch List, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Tuesday.

Named after Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, the annual honor, in its third year, recognizes the top shooting guards in Division I men's basketball. Brown is the only finalist from the Mountain West and was named the Mountain West Preseason Player of the Year last week. 

In his first season with the Lobos in 2015-16, Brown led New Mexico in scoring with 21.7 points per game, the highest average for a Lobo since 2002-03. His 694 points tied Cameron Bairstow for fourth all time in a season. He was one of the nation's leading free throw shooters, draining 217 of 255 attempts for an 85 percent free throw mark. He also led the team with 35 steals and ranks second with 100 assists.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the award will be narrowed down to 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to West and the Hall of Fame's selection committee.

The winner of the 2017 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles, Calif. on April 7. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

2017 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Candidates
Allonzo Trier, Arizona
Dusty Hannahs, Arkansas
Nick Emery, Brigham Young University
Jacob Evans, Cincinnati
Charles Cook, Dayton
Grayson Allen, Duke
Jordan Matthews, Gonzaga
Malcolm Hill, Illinois
James Blackmon Jr., Indiana
Peter Jok, Iowa
Devonte' Graham, Kansas
Malik Monk, Kentucky
Antonio Blakeney, LSU
Donovan Mitchell, Louisville
Eron Harris, Michigan State
Elijah Brown, New Mexico
Tyler Dorsey, Oregon
E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island
Shake Milton, SMU
Isaac Hamilton, UCLA