New Mexico Sweeps MW Cross Country Championships For Sixth Straight Year

FRESNO, Calif. – For the sixth straight year, the University of New Mexico swept the Mountain West Cross Country Championships, claiming both men’s and women’s team titles at the 2014 MW Cross Country Championships, hosted by Fresno State University at Woodward Park.

The men, ranked 18th in the United States Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association Coaches Poll, won the eight-team men’s title, while the No. 10 women finished first among the 11 teams in their race.

New Mexico’s men accounted for five of the top eight finishers, en route to its sixth consecutive team title with 26 points. Air Force placed two runners in the top-10 to finish second with 73 points, while Colorado State rounded out the top three with 76 points.

Boise State’s David Elliott won the men’s individual title with a time of 23:38.70, with Air Force’s Patrick Coron a finishing three seconds behind him (23:41.50) to capture second place. New Mexico took the next three spots in the top five with Jake Shelley (23:43.10), Alex Cornwell (23:44.0) and Ross Matheson (23:47.90) finishing third, fourth and fifth respectively.

On the women’s side, New Mexico’s five scoring runners finished within the top-10 giving the Lobos their seventh-straight title (33 points). Boise State finished second with 58 points, while Wyoming took third with 79 points.

Boise State's Emma Bates commanded the lead from the start of the women’s 6K and never looked back, finishing in a time of 19:37.30, making her the first two-time Mountain West Champion in Conference history.

Bates was followed by teammate Marisa Howard who finished second with a time of 19:53.40, while Wyoming’s Holly Page finished third in 20:18.60. New Mexico’s Alice Wright and Calli Thackery rounded out the top five, finishing fourth (20:21.20) and fifth (20:26.70) respectively.

Men’s Team Scores: 1. New Mexico 26, 2. Air Force 73, 3. Colorado State 76, 4. Boise State 79, 5. Utah State 152, 6. Wyoming 160, 7.Fresno State 181, 8. San José State 197

Mountain West Men’s Student-Athlete of the Year: David Elliott, Boise State

Mountain West Men’s Coach of the Year:

Joe Franklin, New Mexico

Mountain West Men’s Freshman of the Year:

Andrew Rafla, Boise State

Women’s Team Scores:

1. New Mexico 33, 2. Boise State 58, 3. Wyoming 79, 4.Colorado State 103, 5. Air Force 141, 6. Nevada 163, 7. Utah State 180, 8. Fresno State 225, 9. UNLV 245, 10. San Diego State 276, 11. San José State 295

Mountain West Women’s Student-Athlete of the Year:

Emma Bates, Jr., Boise State

Mountain West Women’s Coach of the Year:

Joe Franklin, New Mexico

Mountain West Women’s Freshman of the Year:

Emma Hyyppa, Boise State