New Mexico Women's Cross Country Team Named NCAA Division I Scholar Team of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – New Mexico women’s cross country team was named the NCAA Division I Scholar Team of the Year on Friday, February 19. The Lobos earned the distinction after winning the 2015 NCAA Women’s Cross Country Championship and posting a team grade point average of 3.65. New Mexico was one of four teams to have five individuals named to the USTFCCCA All-Academic list.

Overall, twelve Mountain West cross country teams and 14 student-athletes were named to the United States Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic teams.

Six women’s teams were among the 205 programs to garner All-Academic team honors. New Mexico led the way with a 3.65 GPA, followed by Utah State (3.59), Colorado State (3.54), Nevada (3.33), Boise State (3.25) and Wyoming (3.21). 

On the men’s side, six MW teams out of 171 national programs were recognized. The Lobo men posted a 3.56 GPA, followed by Utah State (3.27), San José State (3.26), Colorado State (3.27), Boise State (3.02) and Fresno State (3.01).

Individually, 160 women and 90 men in total earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors. Honorees must have compiled a GPA of at least 3.25 and finished in the top-25 (or 10 percent) at regionals or as an All-American at nationals.

Garnering individual honors from MW institutions were: Minttu Hukka, So., Boise State; Allie Ostrander, Fr., Boise State; Brenna Peloquin, Fr., Boise State; Jefferson Abbey, R-Jr., Colorado State; Darby Gilfillan, So., Colorado State; Jerrell Mock, R-So., Colorado State; Emily Myers, Sr., Nevada; Rhona Auckland, Jr., New Mexico; Elmar Engholm, Sr., New Mexico; Courtney Frerichs, Sr., New Mexico; Molly Renfer, Sr., New Mexico; Calli Thackery, Sr., New Mexico; Whitney Thornburg, Sr., New Mexico; Aaron Derner, Sr., Wyoming.