No. 1 San Diego State Wins Third Straight MW Women's Soccer Championship

SAN DIEGO, Calif. – San Diego State’s Katie Perry scored in the 96th minute to break a scoreless tie and propel No. 1 San Diego State past No. 2 Wyoming 1-0 in the 2014 MW Women’s Soccer Championship match on Oct. 8 at the SDSU Sports Deck.

Perry, a senior midfielder, was moved into scoring range off a nice touch from sophomore forward Morgan Darling and settled the ball with a pair of dribbles before she let loose a shot from just outside the 18-yard box. Wyoming junior goalkeeper Alex Boehm dove and managed to get a piece of the ball with her right hand, but it wasn’t enough to keep it from crossing the goal line and earning San Diego State (15-4-2) its third straight MW Women’s Soccer tournament title. For her efforts, Perry was named Most Valuable Player of the 2014 MW Women’s Soccer Championship.

The Aztecs, who earned the Conference’s automatic bid with the tournament title, have also won the last three MW regular-season championships. San Diego State will find out its first round opponent on Monday afternoon when the NCAA releases the tournament pairings. The Cowgirls end their 2014 season with an 11-9-1 record.

San Diego State dictated the flow of the match in the first half and spent most of the opening 45 minutes on the Wyoming side of the pitch. Despite the dominance in possession, the Aztecs were unable to finish off several good scoring chances and the two team headed to halftime scoreless.

Wyoming found its footing offensively late in the second half and nearly ended the game in regulation when Wyoming’s Candace Sciberras slipped past the Aztecs’ defense and made a run towards the goal, but SDSU junior goalkeeper Melanie Vaughn dove on the ball before Sciberras could settle the loose ball.

San Diego State owned a 23-8 edge in shots, but Wyoming attempted more shots on goal, 3-2.

2014 MW Women’s Soccer Championship All-Tournament Team

    Jessie Ayers, Sr., MF, Colorado College
    Sarah Schweiss, Jr., MF, Colorado College
    Lindsey Guice, Jr., F, New Mexcio
    Alexis Leyba, Sr., MF, New Mexico
    Ashley Hauke, Jr., D, San Diego State
    Haley Locker, Sr., F, San Diego State
    Katie Perry, Sr., MF, San Diego State
    Melanie Vaughn, Jr., GK, San Diego State
    Alex Boehm, Sr., GK, Wyoming
    Alison Clarke, Sr., D, Wyoming
    Kasey Curtis, Sr., MF/F, Wyoming

Most Valuable Player: Katie Perry, Sr., MF, San Diego State