No. 2 San José State claims MW Championship over No. 1 seed San Diego State

SAN DIEGO, Calif. – For the first time in school history the San José State Spartans are taking home the Mountain West Women’s Soccer Championship crown. After battling No. 1 seed San Diego State to a 1-1 draw through two overtime periods, the No. 2 seeded Spartans claimed the title thanks to a victory in a penalty kick shootout, 4-2. 

In the penalty kick shootout, San José State held a 2-1 advantage after the first two rounds. SDSU’s next attempt hit off the left post and bounded away from the goal, before SJSU’s Dorthe Hoppius converted on her kick to push the Spartans’ edge to 3-1. San Diego State found the back of the net on its fourth attempt, but Darriell Franklin’s score on the following shot for San José State clinched the title for the Spartans. 

The Aztecs struck first in the match with a goal in the ninth minute. After a yellow card on the Spartans, SDSU’s Victoria Barba lofted a pass into the box off a free kick to freshman Milan Moses. Moses redirected the Barba pass through the defense and into the bottom-left corner of the goal for her first marker of the season, giving the Aztecs a 1-0 advantage. 

Moses’ goal was the lone score of the opening 45 minutes as the contest went into halftime with San Diego State leading, 1-0. 

The second half was a defensive struggle as both teams combined for just four shots in the frame. Thanks to a strong defensive performance, the Aztecs maintained their one-goal advantage into the final minute of regulation. 

In the final minute of play, a foul on San Diego State set up the Spartans with a free kick from just inside the midfield stripe. Goalkeeper and Mountain West Defensive Player of the Year Zoe Makrigiannis took the kick for SJSU, sending the ball into the box. In the scrum for the loose ball, San Diego State was called for a foul to set up a penalty kick for the Spartans. Franklin took the kick and buried the shot in the bottom-left corner of the goal to even the contest at 1-1 and send it into overtime.  

Neither team was able to score the golden goal in the two overtime periods to send the match to the aforementioned penalty kicks. 

For the match, San Diego State (15-4-1) outshot SJSU (10-7-4), 12-9, but the Spartans held the edge in shots on goal, 5-2. San José State owned the advantage in corner kicks, 2-1. 

In goal, Melanie Vaughn stopped four shots for the Aztecs, while Makrigiannis made one save in 110 minutes of play for SJSU. 

The title is the first Mountain West championship for San José State in any sport since the Spartans joined the League in 2013. SJSU earns the MW’s automatic berth into the NCAA Women’s Soccer Tournament. The Spartans will find out their seed and opponent when the NCAA releases its field in a selection show on Monday, November 9 at 2:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. PT.

2015 Mountain West Women’s Soccer All-Tournament Team
Sarah Schweiss, Sr., M, Colorado College
Alexis Long, Sr., M, Colorado College
Emily Chavez, So., D, New Mexico
Madisyn Olguin, Sr., F, New Mexico
Ashley Hauke, Sr., D, San Diego State
Milan Moses, Fr., M/F, San Diego State
Melanie Vaughn, Sr., GK, San Diego State
Claire Berkley, So., D, San José State
Darriell Franklin, Fr., F, San José State
Dorthe Hoppius,, So., F, San José State
Paige Simoneau, Fr., GK, San José State

Most Valuable Player: Paige Simoneau, Fr., GK, San José State