Nominees Announced for Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, Wuerffel Trophy

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – On Wednesday morning, six Mountain West football players were recognized for their work off-the-field, as the 2015 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team and Wuerffel Trophy, two of college football’s top community service awards, announced their nominees.

Boise State’s Shane Williams-Rhodes, Colorado State’s Trent Matthews and Fresno State's Justin Northern earned a spot on both award watch lists. New Mexico’s Garrett Adcock was the third MW student-athlete on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, while Nevada’s Don Jackson and Utah State’s Chuckie Keeton were both named nominees for the Wuerffel Award.

Candidates for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team have to display sincere concern and reliability, while also having made a favorable impression on the organizations with which they are involved.

Although Keeton isn’t on the list this year, the Aggies quarterback was one of 11 players selected to the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team. Joining Keeton was Wyoming senior wide receiver Dominic Rufran.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach Florida.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients.  The presentation of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 47th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 12, 2016 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.