Rypien, Myers Named To The Manning Award Preseason Watch List

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Boise State’s Brett Rypien and Utah State’s Kent Myers were two of 30 quarterbacks named to The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, Preseason Watch List. The award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Rypien, is coming off a debut 2015 season in which he was named Mountain West Freshman of the Year and to the all-conference first team after leading the loop in passing yards (3,353), total offense (3,276 yards), completions (273) and attempts (429). Rypien, who made his collegiate debut in Week 3 (Sept. 18) against Idaho State, started Boise State’s final 10 games of 2015 and threw 20 touchdowns with a completion percentage of 63.6, both marks good for second in the Mountain West.

Myers earned honorable mention all-MW honors as a sophomore after completing 121-of-199 passes for 1,593 yards and 16 touchdowns. The native of Rowlett, Texas, who didn’t see his first action of the 2015 season until Week 4, also rushed for 356 yards and three TDs.

Midseason additions to the Watch List will be announced on Wednesday, October 12. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Wednesday, November 30. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, January 11.