San Diego State Takes Over Lead After Day Three of 2015 Mountain West Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships

SAN ANTONIO, Texas – San Diego State took over the lead in team scoring after Day Three of the 2015 Mountain West Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships at the Palo Alto Aquatic Center in San Antonio, Texas with 493 points through 14 events. Boise State dropped into second place, with 446.5 points, followed by Nevada in third with 368 points.


Wyoming sits in fourth place with 268 points and UNLV is fifth with 212.5 points. Air Force is sixth in the standings with 168 points, followed by Colorado State (141), San José State (140), New Mexico (136) and Fresno State (111).



  • Nevada sophomore Teresa Baerens defended her 200-yard freestyle title on Friday night with a MW overall and championship record time of 1:45.68. The previous overall mark of 1:45.85 was set by former Boise State swimmer Amber Boucher in 2012, while the Championship record was set in 2013 by current Wolf Pack assistant coach Mengjiao Mi. Boise State freshman Emma Chard and Air Force sophomore Genevieve Miller placed second (1:46.40) and third (1:47.81), respectively.


  • San Diego State captured its third relay of the meet, the 400-yard medley, in a time of 3:35.19, just .06 away from the MW all-time record of 3:35.13 set by the Aztecs last season. Boise State finished second with a time of 3:36.02, while Wyoming took third after touching the wall in 3:37.63.


  • Nevada junior Yawen Li won the 400-yard individual medley for the second straight year with a time of 4:07.65, an NCAA ‘B’ standard. San Diego State sophomore Frida Berggren finished second in 4:12.34. Air Force senior Kim Davis rounded out the medal stand in third (4:17.42) for the third straight year.


  • Boise State sophomore Brittany Aoyama took home the crown in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 52.09 in Friday’s finals, after placing second in 2014. San Diego State freshman Summer Harrison was second at 52.73, followed by Wyoming junior Molly Coonce (54.04) in third for the second consecutive season.


  • Wyoming freshman Maria Harutjunjan earned her first MW individual crown with a time of 1:00.84 in the 100-yard breaststroke, just missing the championship record by .19. UNLV sophomore Lina Rathsack (1:01.33) and San Diego State senior Emilie Campbell (1:01.85) took second- and third-place, respectively.


  • San Diego State sophomore Anika Apostalon was a repeat winner in the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 52.38. She set the MW all-time record (51.92) in last year’s meet. Boise State junior Sam Wicks came in second after posting a 52.64, and Nevada freshman Jaeger Turner finished third (53.30).


Saturday marks the final day of competition at the 2015 MW Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships. Day Four events begin with the 200-yard backstroke preliminaries at 11 a.m. CT. Finals competition begins at 6 p.m. CT with the recognition of all MW seniors involved in the meet and the presentation of the 2015 MW Senior Recognition Award.


Free live video and results of every session along with finals highlights are available on the MW Championship Central page (!/page/championship_w-swim).


In addition, fans can monitor results through Meet Mobile or live video through the Mountain West app on their handheld devices. Both applications can be downloaded from the Apple App Store for iPhones and iPads, and from Google Play for Android phones and tablets. Fans also can follow #MWSD15 or @MW_OlySports on Twitter for updates throughout the week.