San Diego State's Steve Fisher Named Henry Iba National Coach of the Year Finalist

Courtesy of SDSU Media Relations

ST. LOUIS -- San Diego State men’s basketball head coach Steve Fisher has been named a finalist for the Henry Iba National Coach of the Year Award, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) announced today.

Fisher is one of 10 finalists for the prestigious award, joining Michigan’s John Beilein, Virginia’s Tony Bennett, SMU’s Larry Brown, Saint Louis’ Jim Crews, Cincinnati’s Mick Cronin, Florida’s Billy Donovan, Wichita State’s Gregg Marshall, Creighton’s Greg McDermott and Villanova’s Jay Wright.

Fisher, a two-time national coach of the year, has helped the Aztecs go 24-3 this season. SDSU is currently 13-2 in the Mountain West and tied for first with New Mexico, despite losing three starters from last year’s squad, after being picked fourth in the league’s preseason poll.

After not receiving a vote in the preseason Associated Press Top-25 poll, San Diego State spent three consecutive weeks at No. 5 earlier this month after rattling off 20 straight victories. The Aztecs have defeated three AP Top-25 teams this year, including a win at No. 16 Kansas, and neutral wins vs. No. 20 Creighton and No. 25 Marquette. Kansas is now ranked sixth in the latest AP poll, while Creighton is at No. 9.

The Henry Iba Award is named in honor of the legendary Oklahoma State coach who won 655 games and two national championships in 36 seasons in Stillwater. The USBWA has presented a National Coach of the Year each year since the 1958-59 season. Miami’s Jim Larrañaga was honored with the award last season.