San Diego State Continues to Lead After Day Three of 2013 Mountain West Women's Swimming & Diving Championships

Feb. 22, 2013


Related Links

SAN ANTONIO, Texas - San Diego State continues to widen its lead in team scoring through day three of the 2013 Mountain West Women's Swimming and Diving Championships at the Palo Alto Aquatic Center in San Antonio, Texas with 516.5 points through 14 events. Boise State, the defending champion, moved into second place with 360.5 points, followed by Wyoming in third with 320 points. UNLV currently sits in fourth place with 313 points and Nevada is in fifth with 269 points. New Mexico is sixth in the standings with 209 points, followed by Colorado State (191), Fresno State (188) and Air Force (141).


    • UNLV junior Katelyne Herrington set an MW all-time record in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 52.18 in Friday's preliminary round. She passed the mark of 52.30 set by former Boise State swimmer Amber Boucher at the 2012 Championships. Herrington went on to secure the championship with a time of 52.55, followed by San Diego State senior Gemma Johnson in second at 53.08 and New Mexico junior Jorgi Hobson at 53.82. The trio paced a group of seven swimmers that clocked NCAA B cuts in the event.

    • Nevada senior Mengjiao Mi set a Mountain West Championship record in the finals of the 200-yard freestyle on Friday night with a time of 1:46.36. It is Mi's second win of the Championships, after capturing the 500-yard freestyle title on Thursday. San Diego State seniors Meghan Zimmer and Jessica Crider placed second (1:47.28) and third (1:47.72), respectively. All three times were NCAA provisional marks.

    • San Diego State won its fourth relay of the meet, the 200-yard freestyle, with a time of 1:31.15. Fresno State finished second with a time of 1:31.60, while Wyoming took third with a 1:31.65.

    • Seven swimmers logged NCAA-B cuts in the finals of the 400-yard individual medley. San Diego State junior Mikaela Macklin led the way with a time of 4:11.15 to sweep the IM events. Nevada freshman Yawen Li placed second (4:12.74), followed by Air Force sophomore Kimberly Davis in third (4:13.43).

    • San Diego State senior Katelyn Weddle recorded her third MW crown in the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:00.67, just .02 off the Championship mark she set during the 2010 MW Championships. Boise State sophomore Sydney Johansen finished second in 1:00.92, followed by Wyoming junior Morgan Hartigan in third with a 1:01.49. The top four times in the race were NCAA-B cuts.

    • UNLV senior Carmen Robb won the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 53.59, becoming the first Rebel to pace the field in the event since 2008. Robb was one of seven swimmers to provisionally qualify for the postseason. Breann Fuller, a Colorado State senior, was second at 53.62, while San Diego State senior Leona Jennings rounded out the medals stand at 53.81.

Day four events begin with the 200-yard backstroke preliminaries at 11 a.m. CT. The finals competition starts at 6 p.m. CT with the recognition of all MW seniors involved in the meet. The 2013 MW Women's Swimming & Diving Team Champion will be crowned at the end of the night.

The final session of the Championships will feature a live webstream, beginning at approximately 6 p.m. CT. The live stream will be available through and There is no charge for the video streams.

Live results, team scores, photo galleries and more information from the meet is available through the MW Championship Central page at In addition, fans can monitor results through the Meet Mobile application on their handheld devices. The Active Network application can be downloaded from the Apple App Store for iPhones and iPads, and from Google Play for Android phones and tablets. Fans also can follow #MWSD13 or @TheMWCOlySports on Twitter for updates throughout the week.