New Mexico Finishes Sixth at MW Championships

Feb. 23, 2013

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS - The conclusion of the 2013 Mountain West Swimming and diving championships saw the Lobos come in sixth place for the second straight year finishing with 296 points. San Diego State claimed its second title in three years after the Aztecs tallied 734 points; last year's champions Boise State were second with a total of 575 points.

SDSU Head Coach Mike Schrader was voted Coach of the Year and Aztec junior Mikaela Macklin was given Swimmer of the Year honors after she won titles in the 200- and 400-yard individual medley, 200-yard breast and was a member of the 400-yard free relay team that finished second.

Day three of competition saw eight individual Lobos place in the top 16 of their respective events to bring in points to New Mexico's column.

Monica Dudley was the first Lobo to score after she finished 12th in the 1,650-yard freestyle with a time of 16:58.21.

Caitlin Gardiner was next, and the native of Cape Town, West Cape was also 12th in the 200-yard backstroke after touching the wall in 1:59.89. Gardiner lowered her time from last year's competition where she swam the event in 2:01.11. She remains in the number two spot in the All-Time Top Time list.

In the 100-yard freestyle, Marissa Campbell missed swimming in A-finals after she came in 16th in prelims, but the senior jumped up six spots and came in second in B-finals, to place her 10th overall, with a time of 50.22, a new record.

The 200-yard butterfly saw Samantha Moss place top eight. The sophomore clocked a time of 2:06.19 in A-finals and brought in 11 more points for UNM.

The final diving event of the day and competition was the platform dive and that saw Michole Timm and Megan Harper finish fourth and fifth despite not having a platform in the state of New Mexico. Timm scored 244.32 in finals with Harper tallying a score of 235.11. Stephanie Hansen of Nevada won her second event of the championships; she also claimed the title off the 1-meter board and took Diver of the Year Honors. Hansen's coach, Jian Li Yu was awarded the Diving Coach of the Year Honor.

New Mexico increased its point total from last year when the team brought in 285 points.