Mountain West Women's Swimming & Diving Championships Begin Wednesday

Feb. 19, 2013

Related Links
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The 2013 Mountain West Women's Swimming & Diving Championships will be held this week at the Palo Alto Aquatic Center in San Antonio, Texas. Competition will begin on Wednesday, Feb. 20, at 12:30 p.m. CT with the 1-meter springboard preliminaries and run through Saturday, Feb. 23. Each day will begin with preliminary heats in the morning, followed by finals sessions at 6:30 p.m CT.

Boise State and San Diego State are the favorites among the nine league teams headed into the 14th MW Championship. In 2012, the battle for the MW title came down to the final event, the 400-yard freestyle relay, as then-newcomer BSU pulled out a five-point win over the 2011 champion Aztecs. This season, San Diego State was ranked as high as No. 25 in the Collegiate Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Top 25 poll. BSU (Jan. 30) and UNLV (Oct. 31) have also spent time in sight of the Top 25, receiving votes at different points of the season. The Rebels placed third at the 2012 MW Championships.

The Championships will feature a live webstream of each evening session, beginning at approximately 6:30 p.m. CT. The live stream will be available through and There is no charge for the video streams.

Live results, team scores, photo galleries and more information from the meet is available through the MW Championship Central page at In addition, fans can monitor results through the Meet Mobile application on their handheld devices. The Active Network application can be downloaded from the Apple App Store for iPhones and iPads, and from Google Play for Android phones and tablets. Fans also can follow #MWSD13 or @TheMWCOlySports on Twitter for updates throughout the week.


    50-yard freestyle - Rachel Dixon (Jr., UNLV - 22.78) and Danielle Yoho (Sr., FS - 22.90) have posted the league's only NCAA `B' cut times in the event this season.

    100-yard freestyle - UNLV swimmers have posted three of the top four times in the league this season - Katelyne Herrington (Jr. - 50.10), Julia Fehervari (Fr. - 50.45) and Rachel Dixon (Jr. - 50.45). SDSU senior Meghan Zimmer holds the top time in the MW at 50.09.

    200-yard freestyle - SDSU holds the top three times in the Conference for the regular season - Jessica Crider (Sr. - 1:48.02), Kelly Marquenie (Jr. - 1:49.03) and Meghan Zimmer (Sr. - 1:49.06).

    500-yard freestyle - SDSU seniors Melanie Garibaldi (4:45.81) and Jessica Crider (4:47.77) lead four Aztecs in the top MW five with NCAA `B' cut times. Kelly Marquenie (Jr. - 4:48.48) and Meghan Zimmer (Sr. - 4:52.57) hold the other two times. Boise State senior Jenn Cahill crashes the group with the No. 4 time of 4:50.41 in the event.

    1,650-yard freestyle - UNLV junior Jessica Heim holds the league's top time in the event this season at 16:31.17.

    100-yard backstroke - Six swimmers from six different MW teams have posted an NCAA `B' cut in the event this season - Carmen Robb (Sr., UNLV - 52.78), Breann Fuller (Sr., Colorado State - 53.34), Leona Jennings (Sr., SDSU - 53.92), Jordan Denny (So., Wyoming - 54.80), Marissa Campbell (Sr., New Mexico - 54.89) and Devin Madsen (Fr., BSU - 54.93).

    200-yard backstroke - Five of the league's six swimmers with `B' cuts in the 100-yard version also have NCAA `B' cuts in this event - Breann Fuller (Sr., CSU - 1:56.09), Leona Jennings (Sr., SDSU - 1:56.96), Jordan Denny (So., WYO - 1:57.19), Devin Madsen (Fr., BSU - 1:57.78) and Carmen Robb (Sr., UNLV - 1:59.15). Aztec freshman Natilee Ruiz also holds a `B' time of 1:57.26.

    100-yard breaststroke - SDSU senior Katelyn Weddle (1:01.20) and Wyoming junior Morgan Hartigan (1:02.36) hold NCAA `B' cut times coming into the MW championship.

    200-yard breaststroke - SDSU senior Katelyn Weddle also holds the best time in the league in this event (2:13.71). Her time is one of three NCAA `B' cuts in the MW this season - Chelsea Miller (Jr., BSU - 2:14.12) and Kimberly Davis (So., Air Force - 2:15.96). Davis' time is a Falcon record.

    100-yard butterfly - UNLV and SDSU tag-team the MW's top four spots in the event this season. Rebels Katelyne Herrington (Jr. - 52.94) and Carmen Robb (Sr. - 54.15) sit at No. 1 and No. 3, respectively, while Aztecs Gemma Johnson (Sr. - 53.56) and Loreen Whitfield (So. - 54.25) are No. 2 and No. 4, respectively.

    200-yard butterfly - Boise State junior Rachel Heaney has the Conference's only NCAA `B' cut in the event this season (1:58.50). Her teammate Brooke Balogh (Jr.) holds the second-best time in the league at 2:03.08.

    200-yard individual medley - San Diego State teammates Leona Jennings (Sr. - 2:00.47) and Mikaela Macklin (Jr. - 2:00.91) hold the only NCAA `B' cuts in the Conference this season, while Aztec freshman Natilee Ruiz has the third-best time in the league at 2:01.83.

    400-yard individual medley - SDSU senior Melanie Garibaldi has a league-leading time of 4:15.24, an NCAA `B' cut. Air Force sophomore Kimberly Davis also holds a `B' cut time of 4:17.24 in the event.

    Relays - UNLV holds four of the top relay times in the MW this season - 200-yard freestyle (1:31.33), 800-yard freestyle (7:25.30), 200-yard medley (1:39.39) and 400-yard medley (3:39.00). San Diego State has the top spot in the 400-yard freestyle with a time of 3:20.88.

    1-meter diving - New Mexico sophomore Michole Timm set an MW record this season with a 347.48 on Jan. 12 at her home pool in Albuquerque. Teammate Megan Harper (Jr.) has the league's second-best score at 325.20, followed closely by Grace Huang (Jr.) of Nevada with a 322.43. Twenty-one MW divers have qualified for NCAA Zones in March.

    3-meter diving - UNM junior Megan Harper set the MW record for the 3-meter event with a 370.65 on Jan. 12 in Albuquerque. Michole Timm (So., UNM) is tied for second with Nevada junior Grace Huang at 343.80. Seventeen MW divers are qualified for NCAA Zones in the event.

    Platform diving - Three MW divers are qualified for NCAA Zones, led by Fresno State's Hannah Prigge (Jr.) with a score of 256.55, the fifth-best mark in MW history. San Diego State's Rafaella Suarez (Sr. - 230.90) and Anna Steiner (Jr. - 229.60) are the other two qualifiers.

    Outside the pool - Breaststroke leader Katelyn Weddle of San Diego State serves the league as the Vice Chair of the Mountain West Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. Other swimmers and divers representing their institutions on the MW SAAC are Rachel Kennedy (Air Force), Rayanne Nguyen (Fresno State) and Hilary Ego (UNLV).