Seven Lobos Named to All-Conference Team

Feb. 27, 2013

COLORADO SPRINS, Colo. - The Mountain West announced the 2012-2013 swimming and diving All-Conference team today and for the first time since the 2003-2004 season, the Lobos had a total of seven athletes make the list.

All-Conference selections are awarded to the top eight finishers in the individual events and top three relay team finishers at the MW Championships.

Four Lobos are making repeat appearances on the list: Marissa Campbell, Megan Harper, Jorgi Hobson and Michole Timm while the other three are first time selections.

Campbell led the way in the water having finished top eight in two events, the 50-yard freestyle and the 100-yard backstroke. The Duke City native, was eighth in the 50-yard free with a time of 23.17 and fourth in the 100-yard back clocking a time of 53.83. This is the third time Campbell has been named an All-MW selection.

For Hobson, this is the second straight year that the junior from Las Cruces, N.M. finished top eight in the 100-yard butterfly. After placing fifth in 2012, Hobson medaled this year after she swam the event in 53.82 and finished third.

Off the boards, Megan Harper and Michole Timm were honored for their performances in all three diving events. This is the third and second year in a row, respectively, that the divers placed top eight in at least two events.

Harper placed third off the 3-meter board with a final tally of 325.08 while she also finished fifth and sixth off the platform and 1-meter with scores of 235.11 and 283.38. Timm also placed in all events with her highest score coming off the 1-meter where she was second with a final tally of 305.64. Off the 3-meter and platform the sophomore was fourth with scores of 321.72 and 244.32.

Monica Dudley, Stelicia Flores and Samantha Moss are all first time selections. Dudley and Flores, who are both juniors, placed 7th in their respective events the 500-yard freestyle and 100-yard backstroke. Dudley clocked a time of 4:52.90 while Flores swam her event in 54.48. In the 200-yard butterfly, Moss was eighth after touching the wall in 2:06.19.