Four Lobos selected to Mountain West All-Conference team

Feb. 28, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Three days after the conclusion of the 2012 Mountain West Swimming and Diving Championships the conference office has announced the members of the MW All-Conference team. All-Conference selections are awarded to the top eight finishers in the individual events and top three relay team finishers at the MW Championships. Jorgi Hobson, Ashlee Erickson, Megan Harper and Michole Timm were all named to the team.

Sophomore Jorgi Hobson was the only New Mexico swimmer to be named to the All-Conference team. The native of Las Cruces, N.M. finished fifth in the 100-yard butterfly clocking a final time of 54.75, which was also a new school record. Hobson currently has the top three times in school history in the 100-fly. This is also the first time since the 2010 Mountain West Conference championships, when Marissa Campbell and Jocelyn Collela were named All-Conference, that a swimmer has been honored.

Off the boards senior Ashlee Erickson, who also earned MW Diver of the Year honors, was named for her performance in both the 1-meter and 3-meter springboards. The native of Plainwell, Mich., placed first in both the 1- and 3-meter with scores of 311.85 and 326.35, respectively. This is the second year in a row that Erickson is named All-Conference in the 1-meter and 3-meter.

Megan Harper also earned a selection to the team after her performance in the 1-meter and 3-meter boards. Harper reached scores of 263.20 in the 1-meter and 287.70 in the 3-meter to finish fourth and third, respectively. This is the second year in a row that Harper is named All-Conference in the 3-meter, it is her first selection in the 1-meter.

Michole Timm was honored in the 1- and 3-meter springboards after placing fifth and sixth with scores of 261.70 and 260.60, respectively.