New Mexico Men and San Diego State Women Lead After Day Two At 2013 MW Indoor Track & Field Championships

Feb. 22, 2013

Related Links

NAMPA, Idaho - The New Mexico men (53 points) and the San Diego State women (56 points) lead the 2013 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships after two days of competition at the Jacksons Indoor Track at the Idaho Center in Nampa, Idaho.

New Mexico senior Richard York won his second Mountain West heptathlon title in three years (he won in 2011), scoring 5,590 points, which stands as a new school record. In addition to his two victories, York finished second in the MW Track & Field Championships in the heptathlon in 2012 and 2010.

Evan McDowell, a sophomore from Air Force, finished second with 5,148 points, while Roderick Townsend, a Boise State sophomore, placed third with 5,028 points. Rounding out the field was: Wyoming sophomore Kyle Sullivan (4th - 4,994); Colorado State senior Josh McMillin (5th - 4,993); Colorado State freshman Josh Cogdill (6th - 4,733); Boise State freshman Adam Ruggiero (7th - 4,633) and Colorado State sophomore Justin Green (did not finish).

Final Heptathlon Results: 1. Richard York, New Mexico - 5,590; 2. Evan McDowell, Air Force - 5,148; 3. Roderick Townsend, Boise State - 5,028; 4. Kyle Sullivan, Wyoming - 4,994; 5. Josh McMillin, Colorado State - 4,993; 6. Josh Cogdill, Colorado State - 4,733; 7. Adam Ruggiero, Boise State - 4,633; 8. Justin Green, Colorado State - DNF.

2013 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships Notes:
- Wyoming freshman Sabina Sandberg won the women's high jump with a mark of 5'-8.75''. It is the first-ever MW title in the event for the Cowgirls. Jazmyn Webster, a junior from Colorado State, finished second (5'-8.75'') and teammate Alison Forrester, a junior, was third (5'-7.75'').

- Two-time defending MW champion in the men's 60-meter hurdles, Colorado State junior Trevor Brown, equaled his MW all-time record in his preliminary heat with a time of 7.84 seconds. Brown ran a 7.84 in Colorado Springs, Colo. on Feb. 9, 2013 to break his previous record of 7.86, set in Feb. 17, 2012 in Golden, Colo.

- Fresno State junior Meagan McKee won the women's weight throw (64'-2.25''), edging out Colorado State sophomore, Kiah Hicks, in a close competition. Hicks also had a throw of 64'-2.25'' but McKee had a superior throw in the third round of the finals to earn the tiebreaker.

- Fresno State's Je'Nia Sears won the women's long jump. The sophomore checked in at 19'-9.50'', topping Heather Pilcher of Boise State by 3.5 inches. New Mexico's Casey Dowling took third in19'-5.50''.

- UNLV senior Emily Blok eclipsed her MW-leading time in the 200-meters this season, as she ran a 23.79 in her qualifying heat on Friday. Blok also set a new MW top time in the 60-meters, as she posted a 7.42 to lead all qualifiers.

- San Diego State's Kristen Brown, who entered the MW Indoor Track & Field Championships with the highest women's pole vault clearance (13'-10.00'') won the event at 13'-6.50''. That is good for the second-best mark in the MW and ranks 17th nationally this season. New Mexico senior Amber Menke and San Diego State senior Kelsy Hintz tied for second at 13'-2.50''.

- In the women's 5,000, senior Kendra Shaff of New Mexico took top honors, crossing the finish line in 16:48.35. Boise State sophomore Marissa VanderMalle was second (16:49.04) and New Mexico senior Shawna Winnegar came in third (16:50.26).

- In the men's 5,000, MW all-time record holder Luke Caldwell of New Mexico won the event in 14:30.30. The junior set the MW all-time mark of 13:40.49 on Feb. 8, 2013 at Seattle, Wash.

- New Mexico junior Kendall Spencer, the MW all-time record holder in the long jump at 26'-3.50'', won the event for the second straight year with a jump of 24'-9.75''. Wyoming senior Lenyn Leonce finished second at 23'-8.25''.

- In the weight throw, Colorado State's Alec Pott, a junior, slipped past Mason Finley of Wyoming to take home the title. Pott's best throw was 61'-3.00'', while Finley checked in at 60'-5.75''. Pott's throw is fifth-best in the MW this season.

- The distance medley relays wrapped up the second day of competition. In the women's race, Air Force (Rebecca Esselstein, Bethany Gross, Morgan Mosby and Melissa Fuerst) picked up the first title on the 2013 Championships for the Falcons. The quartet won the race in 11:52.73. In the men's race, Air Force and Colorado State battled down to the final lap, with the Rams squeezing out the victory, 9:58.34 to 9:59.30.