New Mexico Men and San Diego State Women Win 2013 MW Indoor Track & Field Championships

Feb. 23, 2013

Related Links
  • Championship Central

  • Buy Championship Photos!

  • Buy Championship Gear!

    Subscribe to me on YouTube

NAMPA, Idaho - The New Mexico men and San Diego State women took home the team titles at the 2013 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships, held at Jacksons Indoor Track at the Idaho Center in Nampa, Idaho. It is the first MW team title for the Lobo men and Aztec women.

On the men's side, Air Force finished second (145 points), followed by Boise State (141), Colorado State (102) and Wyoming (72). The Lobos finished second (123 points) on the women's side, with Nevada (86), Boise State (77.33), UNLV (66), Air Force (59.33), Colorado State (57.33), Wyoming (53) and Fresno State (38).

Final Team Scores (Men):
1. New Mexico - 185; 2. Air Force - 145; 3. Boise State - 141; 4. Colorado State - 102; 5. Wyoming - 72.

Final Team Scores (Women):
1. San Diego State 123, 2. New Mexico 103, 3. Nevada 86, 4. Boise State 77.33, 5. UNLV 66, 6. Air Force 59.33, 7. Colorado State 57.33, 8. Wyoming 53, 9. Fresno State 38.

2013 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships Award Winners:
Men's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico
Women's Coach of the Year: Shelia Burrell, San Diego State
Men's Outstanding Performer: Mason Finley, Wyoming
Women's Outstanding Performer: Shanieka Thomas, San Diego State

2013 MW Indoor Track & Field Championships Notes:

- Wyoming's Mason Finley won the men's shot put with a throw of 65'-1.50''. Finley finished second on Friday in the weight throw. Chase Sexton of Boise State took second (60'-8.75''), while Tyler Schultz of Colorado State was third (58'-10.75'').

- Shanieka Thomas, who entered the MW Championships with the top triple jump mark in the nation this season, won the conference championship with a jump of 43'-9.00'', which is good for third-best nationally. She won the event last year.

- Finley was named the Men's Outstanding Performer of the meet, while Thomas earned the Women's Outstanding Performer of the meet.

- Colorado State junior Trevor Brown established a new MW Championship and All-Time mark in the men's 60-meter hurdles. The now three-time MW champion won the race in 7.77 seconds. That time currently ranks 14th in the nation.

- In the men's high jump, New Mexico's Django Lovett won the event with a clearance of 6'-11.00''. Zach Wood of Air Force, a senior, finished second at 6'-9.75'', while Roderick Townsend of Boise State was third (6'-8.75''). Richard York of New Mexico, who won the men's heptathlon on Friday, placed fifth in 6'-5.00''.

- Josephine Moultrie, a senior from New Mexico, edged out Boise State sophomore Emma Bates on the final straightaway to win the women's mile. Moultrie, who also won the event in the 2012 MW Indoor Championships, finished in 4:42.33, while Bates clocked in at 4:42.49.

- Moultrie followed up her mile performance with another narrow victory, as she out-kicked Air Force's Annette Eichenberger to win, 2:09.75-to-2:09.80. She finished second in the 800 in 2012.

- Jasmine Burrell, a sophomore from San Diego State, threw 51'-10.50'' to take top honors in the women's shot put. Elizabeth Johnson of Colorado State (49'-7.75'') and Kerri Simmons of Nevada (49'-2.50'') finished second and third, respectively.

- Kristen Brown, who won the women's pole vault on Friday, took home the title in the 60-meter hurdles. She finished in 8.40, just ahead of Katy Hall of Wyoming (8.51) and Allison Reaser of San Diego State (8.53).

- Kelsey Williamson of UNLV won the 400-meters in a time of 55.31 seconds. Shanieka Thomas of San Diego State (55.67) and Taryn Campos of Boise State (55.87) finished second and third, respectively. Williamson finished third in the 800 (2:11.02).

- A sophomore from Air Force, Zach Perkins outlasted the field to win the men's mile. Perkins' time of 4:08.23 was just ahead of New Mexico's Sam Evans, who finished in 4:10.04. Luke Caldwell, who won the 5,000 on Friday, placed third in the mile in 4:10.91.

- Caldwell won the men's 3,000, and did so in record-setting fashion, finishing the race in 8:14.66. The time is a new MW Championships record.

- Emily Blok, a senior at UNLV, won her first-ever MW Indoor Championship title on Saturday, as she crossed the line first in the women's 60-meter dash. Blok finished in 7.38 seconds. Nevada's Angelica Earls (7.46) and Samantha Calhoun (7.55) finished second and third, respectively.

- Blok completed the double-dip later in the day as she took home the 200-meters title in 23.63. That time is good for 17th nationally this season.

- Daveon Collins, a sophomore from Boise State, won the men's 60-meter dash in 6.79. Ridge Jones (6.87) and Kendall Spencer (6.95) from New Mexico rounded out the top-three.

- Collins later won his second MW title, as he took home the 200-meters championship. His time of 21.03 was the second-best mark in MW Indoor Championships history, and the third-best mark all-time.

- Jordin Andrade of Boise State won the men's 400 in 48.20, followed by teammate Jeff Daw in 48.49. Charles Lewis of New Mexico finished third with a time of 48.54.

- Air Force controlled the men's pole vault, placing four competitors in the top five. Sophomore Joey Uhle won the event with a clearance of 17'-9.75''. The height currently ranks 10th in the nation. Cale Simmons (17'-2.75'') finished third, Dylan Bell (16'-10.75'') was fourth and Rob Simmons (16'-10.75'') took fifth. New Mexico's Logan Pflibsen placed second in 17'-2.75''. This is the second consecutive year the Falcons have won the pole vault.

- Edwin Herring of New Mexico won the men's 800 in a time of 1:50.59.

- Bates, while she didn't win the mile, did take home the title in the 3,000, and in the process, set a new MW Indoor Championships record with a time of 9:36.46, besting the prior mark of 9:45.24. Bates won the 3,000 championship in 2012.

- In the men's triple jump, New Mexico's Floyd Ross won the event in 51'-11.00'', followed by Rolando Trammel of Boise State in 48'-8.75''.

- San Diego State women and Boise State men won the 4x400 relays.