New Mexico Men and San Diego State Women Lead After Day Two at MW Indoor Track & Field Championships

Feb. 24, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The New Mexico men (45 points) and the San Diego State women (47 points) lead the Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships after two days of competition at the Albuquerque Convention Center.

Boise State senior Kurt Felix won his first Mountain West heptathlon crown, scoring a MW Championship record of 5,703 points, which marks the second-best overall point total in Conference history.

Richard York, a junior from New Mexico, placed second with a point total of 5,408, and Michael Tibbs of Air Force finished third with 5,402 points. Sam Potter, a junior from New Mexico, earned fourth-place honors (5,121), while Brandon Douglass of Wyoming and Josh McMillin of Colorado State finished fifth and sixth, with point totals of 5,098 and 4,857, respectively. Rounding out the field was CSU freshman Justin Green (7th - 4,810), CSU sophomore Robert Wasinger (8th - 4,723), Wyoming freshman Kyle Sullivan (9th - 4,631), Boise State senior Anthony Belcher (10th - 4,126) and Air Force freshman Evan McDowell (DNF).

On the men's side, Boise State is in second place (43 points), followed by Air Force (39), Colorado State (24), TCU (21) and Wyoming (20).

New Mexico is currently in second place on the women's side (42 points), followed by TCU (41), Air Force (40), Colorado State (35), UNLV (32), Boise State (32) and Wyoming (4).

Final Heptathlon Results:
1. Kurt Felix, Boise State - 5,703; 2. Richard York, New Mexico - 5,408; 3. Michael Tibbs, Air Force - 5,402; 4. Sam Potter, New Mexico - 5,121; 5. Brandon Douglass, Wyoming - 5,098; 6. Josh McMillin, Colorado State - 4,857; 7. Justin Green, Colorado State - 4,810; 8. Robert Wassinger, Colorado State - 4,723; 9. Kyle Sullivan, Wyoming - 4,631; 10. Anthony Belcher, Boise State - 4,126; 10. Evan McDowell, Air Force - DNF.

2012 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships Notes:

  • Colorado State sophomore Hannah Pensack-Rinehart became the third Ram in Mountain West history to win the women's 5,000-meter title. Pensack-Rinehart's time of 16:52.35 represents the third-fastest mark in Mountain West Championship history. TCU sophomore Agnes Kemboi finished second with a time of 17:00.69, and New Mexico junior Lacey Oeding finished third with a time of 17:06.42. Those times, respectively, are the third and fourth fastest ever at the MW Championship.

  • Air Force captured the men's 5,000-meter championship for the second straight year and third time in four years when Falcons senior Jim Walmsley crossed the finish line in a time of 14:22.19. Walmsley's victory marked the fifth Mountain West title in the event for Air Force. New Mexico junior Sean Stam recorded a time of 14:38.72 to finish in the runner-up position, and Boise State senior Sawyer Bosch scored a third-place finish with a time of 14:45.60.

  • Colorado State sophomore Trevor Brown ran a preliminary heat in the 60-meter hurdles in a time of 7.87 seconds, establishing a new Mountain West Championship record in the event. Brown's time was .01 seconds off the all-time Mountain West mark of 7.86 seconds that he set on Feb. 18 in Golden, Colo.

  • Boise State senior Trevor Kraychir won the Broncos' first Mountain West crown in the men's weight throw with a toss of 64'-05.75" (19.65m). Wyoming senior Joe Plante came in second with a throw of 63'-11.50" (19.49m), while TCU junior Sean Tabor locked in third place with a toss of 62-01.0" (18.92m).

  • Boise State senior Kurt Felix set a Mountain West Championship record in the men's heptathlon with 5,703 to capture the title for the Broncos. He finished with the second-best performance in MW history, behind his own mark of 5,771 two weeks ago in Nampa, Idaho. Second place went to New Mexico's Richard York with 5,408 points, which is the fifth-best mark in Conference championship history. Air Force's Michael Tibbs was third with 5,402 points.

  • TCU senior Whitney Gipson made it back-to-back titles in the women's long jump, finishing with a Mountain West Championship mark of 21'-10.75" (6.67m) for the Horned Frogs and improving by 18.5 inches from her 2011 winning jump. Gipson's latest performance also is the longest jump in the NCAA this season and ranks as the second-best jump in Mountain West history. The victory was TCU's third overall in the event. Horned Frogs freshman Lorraine Ugen followed in second place with a jump of 21'-04.25" (6.51m), scoring the second-best mark in MW Championship history and third all-time jump in Conference history. Shanieka Thomas, a freshman from San Diego State, earned third place with a jump of 19'-03.25" (5.87m).

  • Kelsey Hintz, a junior from San Diego State, captured the women's pole vault with a height of 14'-0.00" (4.27m). That mark ties for second on the Mountain West Championship records list. The win extended the Aztecs' dominance in the event as SDSU now has won eight pole vault titles in 13 years. Junior Amber Menke of New Mexico finished second, and Air Force senior Kimber Shealy was third, both clearing 13'-05.75" (4.11m).

  • New Mexico sophomore Kendall Spencer established an all-time Mountain West record and a UNM program record in the men's long jump, recording a distance of 25'-7.50" (7.62m) to capture the event for the Lobos. The victory was the school's first and ended Wyoming's five-year reign in the event.

  • TCU freshman Orlene Parris captured the women's high jump with a leap of 5'-9.25" (1.76m) for the Horned Frogs' first Mountain West win in the event. UNLV sophomore Ashley Henry also turned in a jump of 5'-9.25" (1.76m) to finish in second. Colorado State junior Cate Brus recorded a mark of 5'-7.75" (1.72m) for third place.

  • Boise State senior Mele Vaisima won the school's first women's weight throw title with a distance of 69'-8.25" (21.24m), which was the third-best distance in Mountain West Championship history. UNLV seniors Amanda Bingson and Danielle Rios placed second and third, respectively, with throws of 65'-2.00" (19.86m) and 63'-8.75" (19.42m).

  • The Air Force quartet of senior Auriele Fain, senior Rachel Thomas, junior Morgan Mosby and junior Melissa Fuerst won the women's distance medley with a time of 12:00.16, which qualifies as the fifth-fastest time in MW Championship history. The win was the Falcon women's first in the Mountain West. The UNLV team of sophomore Laura Affeld, senior Lindsay Roach, senior Brett Zorich and senior Ali Bartosch finished second with a time of 12:03.36. Senior Kristy Milner, freshman Mickey Brown, senior Emma Reed and junior Imogen Ainsworth captured third place for New Mexico with a time of 12:03.99.

  • Air Force sophomore Lance Wolfsmith, senior Bryce Bergman, sophomore Matt Caldwell and senior Alex Zubey combined to give the Falcons their first Mountain West men's distance relay championship. Their time of 9:55.39 marked the third fastest time in MW Championship history. Second-place honors went to the Colorado State foursome of junior Alex Muntefering, freshman Sam Lynass, freshman Andrew Goodman and sophomore Alex Balsiger, who recorded a 10:01.43 time. New Mexico senior Nicholas Kipruto, junior Derek Montoya, senior Matt Everett and sophomore Sam Evans clocked a 10:10.31 to finish third.

For more information on the 2012 Mountain West Indoor Track & Field Championships, follow the MW on Twitter at and For the latest news from around the league, become a Facebook fan at and read the league's official blog at