Three Academy Records Fall at Drake Relays

April 28, 2012

DES MOINES, Iowa - Three Academy records fell during the second day of competition (April 28) at the 103rd Drake Relays in Des Moines, Iowa. Program standards for two running events and one field event were broken during a stellar day at Drake Stadium, while an additional top-five time was recorded.

Junior Jen Bremser broke the Academy's 3000-meter steeplechase record after crossing the finish line in a time of 10:46.79. Improving her personal time by nine seconds, Bremser shaved two seconds off of the program's 2005 standard and Junior Class Record to finish 14th.

The quartet of sophomore Lance Wolfsmith, senior Manny Smith, sophomore Alex Lindsay and senior Alex Zubey combined to set a new Academy record time in the distance medley relay, as they crossed the finish line in a time of 9:43.22. Finishing seventh in the field, the Falcons cut over one second off of the previous record that Zubey helped set last year.

Tossing a career-best 183'9" in the discus throw, senior James Cole matched the Academy record that Shawn Larcher first set in 1993. The mark, a personal improvement by three feet, also improved the program's Senior Class Record that Cole first set last weekend at the Beach Invitational.

Senior Jim Walmsley, competing in his first career steeplechase, was the runner-up in that event with a time of 8:58.66. Just the sixth Falcon to better the nine-minute mark in the steeplechase, Walmsley debuted in fifth on the program's all-time list.

In addition, senior Bryce Bergman clocked a time of 52.98 to finish 13th in the 400-meter hurdles, while sophomore Kassie Gurnell recorded a distance of 39'9¼" to finish 17th in the triple jump. Senior Robert Drye, who had been out of with to an injury sustained in December, made his season debut in the hammer throw with a 23rd-place toss of 175'11".

Air Force returns to action next Friday (May 4), when it hosts the annual Front Range Classic at the Cadet Outdoor Track and Field Complex. The Falcons will welcome Colorado, Colorado State, New Mexico, Northern Colorado and Wyoming to the Academy for its final regular season competition.