Air Force Men, San Diego State Women Lead After Day Three Of 2013 Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships

May 10, 2013

Related Links

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - The Air Force men (78 points) and No. 23 San Diego State women (73 points) lead after day three of competition at the 2013 Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships, held at Sheila Tarr-Smith Field at Myron Partridge Stadium in Las Vegas.

New Mexico (38 points) is in second place in the women's team standings, followed by Colorado State (37), Boise State (28), Nevada (20), Fresno State (16), Air Force (14), Wyoming (13) and UNLV (10).

Colorado State (74 points) trails the defending men's champion Falcons by just four points. New Mexico (54), Wyoming (31), Boise State (15) and Fresno State (15) round out the scoring.

Saturday marks the final day of events. The festivities begin at 8 a.m. PT with the Women's 5000 Meters.

Men's Team Scores:
1. Air Force - 78; 2. Colorado State - 74; 3. New Mexico - 54; 4. Wyoming - 31; 5. Boise State - 15; 5. Fresno State - 15.

Women's Team Scores:
1. San Diego State - 73; 2. New Mexico - 57; 3. Colorado State - 37; 4. Boise State - 28; 5. Nevada - 20; 6. Air Force - 19; 7. Fresno State - 16; 8. Wyoming - 13; 9. UNLV - 10.

2013 MW Outdoor Track & Field Championships Notes:
- Boise State sophomore Emma Bates found an extra gear on the last lap to pull away from New Mexico's Shawna Winnegar to win the 10,000 Meters. Bates' time of 36:09.92 established a new stadium record, and the top five finishers all eclipsed the old stadium mark of 37:53.00. Bates is the defending champion in the 5000 Meters.

- In the men's 10,000 Meters, Luke Caldwell of New Mexico edged out Air Force's Jeremy Drenckhahn to claim the title. Caldwell finished in 30:27.71, while Drenckhahn clocked in at 30:29.96. The Lobo junior won the 3000 and 5000 Meters at the 2013 MW Indoor Track & Field Championships.

- Marissa VanderMalle of Boise State won the 3000 Steeplechase in a new stadium-record time of 10:25.24. In the men's 3000 Steeplechase, New Mexico freshman Elmar Engholm followed VanderMalle's lead and set a new stadium mark with a championship-winning time of 8:59.16. Engholm's time is the third-best in MW Championship history.

- New Mexico's Django Lovett won the High Jump for the second time in the last three years. Lovett, a junior, cleared 7'-0.50'', which is the fourth-best mark in MW Championship history. He successfully jumped 7'-1.75'' in 2011.

- Kendall Spencer of the Lobos took the top spot in the Long Jump. The 2012 NCAA Indoor National Champion recorded a distance of 24'-6.50''. It's his second MW Outdoor Championship in three years, and fourth MW title overall.

- San Diego State's Jasmine Burrell launched the discus 181'-0.50'' to set a new MW Outdoor Championship record and win the Discus title. Colorado State's Kiah Hicks finished second at 179'-6.00'' and also shattered the old MW Outdoor Championship record. Burrell and Hicks, both sophomores, now have the top two throws in MW Championship history, as well as the fourth- and fifth-best throws ever in the Conference.

- Colorado State freshman JT Van Veen beat out defending MW Outdoor champion, Wyoming senior Joe Plante, and 11 other competitors to win the Discus. Van Veen's best throw of the day was 177'-11.00''. Van Veen was ranked eighth in the Conference entering the championship. He now owns the fourth-best throw in the MW this season. James Chambers (177'-5.00'') and Brian Ford (175'-4.00'') of Air Force finished second and third, respectively.

- UNLV junior Myshauna Alexander entered the Javelin competition with the best mark in the MW, and she went on to win the MW Outdoor Championship title. Alexander, who finished second in 2012, had a top throw of 151'-10.00''.

- Shanieka Thomas, the defending Triple Jump champion, earned the 2013 Long Jump title with a leap of 20'-7.25''. New Mexico's Yeshemabet Turner placed second at 20'-2.50 and Nevada's Deborah Amoah was third at 19'-9.75''. Thomas's jump is the fifth-best in MW Championship history.

-In the women's Pole Vault, Kristen Brown of the Aztecs took home the top spot, clearing 13'-7.25''. The mark sets a new stadium record, besting the old height of 12'-8.00'' set back in 2002. New Mexico's Amber Menke (13'-3.50'') and Margo Tucker (12'-11.50'') finished second and third, respectively.

- The day's final event saw Wyoming's Henry Ferreira capture the Javelin crown. Last year's runner-up had a winning toss of 224'-0.00''. Garrett Griffin of Air Force was second at 215'-10.00'', followed by teammate Tim Urista at 208'-0.00''. Ferreira's throw ranks fourth all-time at the MW Championship.