Air Force Men and Colorado State Women Lead Heading into Final Day of MW Outdoor Track & Field Championships

May 11, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Air Force men (67 points) and the Colorado State women (62 points) lead the Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships after three days of competition at the Cadet Outdoor Track & Field Complex.

Boise State holds second place for the men with 64.50 points, followed by Wyoming in third with 51 points. New Mexico (43 points), Colorado State (32.50 points) and TCU (15 points) round out fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively.

San Diego State holds second place for the women with 49.50 points, followed by TCU in third with 44 points. Boise State (32 points) and New Mexico (25.50 points) are currently fourth and fifth overall, while Air Force (23 points), UNLV (20 points) and Wyoming (17 points) round out the sixth, seventh and eighth positions, respectively.

Team Scores (Men):
1. AFA - 67; 2. BSU - 64.50; 3. WYO- 51; 4. UNM - 43; 5. CSU- 32.50; 6. TCU - 15.

Team Scores (Women):
1. CSU - 62; 2. SDSU - 49.50; 3. TCU - 44; 4. BSU - 32; 5. UNM - 25.50; 6. AFA - 23; 7. UNLV - 20; 8. WYO - 17.

2012 MW Outdoor Track & Field Championships Notes:

  • UNLV senior Amanda Bingson captured her third-straight hammer title with a Cadet Stadium-record distance of 222'-11" (67.94m). Bingson, who already holds the best mark in the NCAA this season, becomes just the second student-athlete to earn three MW hammer titles in her career (joining Colorado State's Loree Smith), and the first to win three titles in consecutive years. She also owns three of the top five best throws all-time in Mountain West outdoor history. Wyoming's Ashley Hutchinson captured second-place with a mark of 192'-08" (58.72m).

  • In the women's 3,000-meter steeplechase, Colorado State senior Nicole Peters captured her first outdoor title, crossing the finish line in a time of 10:56.13. Peters, who placed fourth in 2011, fifth in 2010 and second in 2009, becomes the second Ram to win the event in the past three seasons. TCU senior Kelly Dawson (11:12.27) and Boise State freshman Marissa VanderMalle (11:15.78) placed second and third, respectively.

  • Jim Walmsley became Air Force's first conference champion in the men's 3,000-meter steeplechase since 2002, finishing in a time of 9:24.96. The fourth seed in the conference, Walmsley was competing in the steeplechase for just the second time in his career. Wyoming sophomore Garrett Zans, the fourth-place finisher in 2011, was the runner-up with a mark of 9:26.49, earning the Cowboys' best-ever MW showing in the steeplechase. Meanwhile, Boise State becomes just the second school since 2000 to place three athletes in the top five in the steeplechase (BYU accomplished the feat on six occasions).

  • TCU became the first team to sweep the top three spots in the women's long jump, led by senior Whitney Gipson who captured her second-straight title in the event, recording a mark of 20'-4.25" (6.20m). Gipson now owns three of the top five MW outdoor championship marks. Meanwhile, freshman Lorraine Ugen (19'-11.50" [6.08m]), the current all-time MW record holder, and sophomore Samantha Collins (19'-02.00" [5.84m]) placed second and third, respectively.

  • Wyoming's Joe Plante notched a conference-best mark of 184'-7" (56.26m) on his final throw to earn the title in the men's discus, becoming the Cowboys' second-ever MW champion in the event and their first since 2001. Plante's winning throw was over 19' further than his third-place mark in 2011. Meanwhile, Air Force's James Cole recorded his second-consecutive top-three finish in the event, improving upon his third-place finish from 2011. Cole, who posted a mark of 181'-11" (55.44m) to place second, earned the Falcons' best-ever MW finish in the men's discus.

  • Zach Wood became Air Force's first-ever MW champion in the men's high jump, clearing 6'-10.25" (2.09m), after placing fourth in 2011. Wood, who earned the title by virtue of a tiebreaker, shared the top mark with New Mexico sophomore Django Lovett, the 2011 MW high jump champion. Meanwhile, Air Force's Kobi Rex and Travis Smith placed third and fourth, respectively, with identical marks of 6'-8.75" (2.05m). Finishing with three athletes in the top four of the event, Air Force became just the second school in conference history to do so (BYU swept the top three spots in 2007).

  • In the preliminaries of the men's 110-meter hurdles, Colorado State's Trevor Brown set an MW championship record with a time of 14.00. The previous record of 14.04 was set in 2003 by Air Force's Thomas Clark.

  • San Diego State junior Holly Waseloff earned her first MW title in the women's pole vault with a career-best mark of 13'-0.25" (3.97m), becoming just the third Mountain West athlete this season to clear 13'. Waseloff gave the Aztecs their seventh pole vault title in program history, and their second-straight individual champion in the event. Teammate Kelsey Hintz, the 2011 pole vault champion, and New Mexico's Nathalie Busk each cleared 12'-7.5" (3.85m) to place second and third, respectively.

  • In the women's 200-meter dash preliminaries, UNLV junior Emily Blok clocked a time of 23.71, a mark which is the fastest in the Mountain West for the 2012 outdoor season.

  • In the women's 10,000-meter run, Colorado State's Hannah Pensack-Rinehart earned her first MW title, crossing the line in a stadium-record time of 36:07.81 to become just the second CSU runner to win the event (Kim Leal, 2002). The top five finishers in the race surpassed the previous Cadet Stadium record of 37:32.95 set in 1992 by BYU's Lisa Chipman. New Mexico's Ruth Senior finished second with a mark of 36:43.32, while Agnes Kemboi of TCU took third place with a time of 37:22.45. Also besting the previous stadium record were Colorado State's Sarah Heuer (37:28.50) and New Mexico's Lacey Oeding (37:30.68).

  • Senior Nick Ekel claimed Wyoming's first conference title in the men's 10,000-meter run, finishing in a time of 31:06.54, knocking off defending MW champion Nicholas Kipruot of New Mexico. The Lobos, who had claimed the last two MW titles in the 10-meters, were led by Kipruto (31:23.54) and Sean Stam (31:25.09), who placed second and third, respectively, marking the fourth-straight MW Championship in which New Mexico has placed at least one athlete in the top four in the event.

  • TCU's Ramone Bailey became the third-consecutive freshman to claim the MW Championship title in the men's long jump with a mark of 24'-3.75" (7.41m). He is the fifth freshman in Mountain West history to claim the long jump title, and the second TCU athlete to win the event, following Jonathan Jackson in 2007.

  • In the women's discus throw, senior Whitney Ashley of San Diego State, who entered the meet with the sixth-best throw in the nation, earned her second-straight title in the event with a toss of 166'-04" (50.71m). Air Force senior Paige Blackburn notched her best career finish at the event, recording a mark of 163'-01" (49.72m) to place second, while Colorado State sophomore Jessica Sharbono finished third with a throw of 162'-02" (49.42m).

Full coverage of the 2012 Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field Championships can be found online. Visit Championship Central for live stats, recaps, photos, videos and more. You can also follow the MW on its social media channels:

Mountain West on Twitter @TheMWC | @TheMWCOlySports | @MW_MHoops | @MW_WHoops | @MWCMick

Mountain West on Facebook | Mountain West on YouTube