Lobo Men Fourth, Women Fifth at Third Day of MW Championships

May 11, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The University of New Mexico track and field squad wrapped up day three of the 2012 Mountain West Outdoor Track and Field Championships with the men in fourth place with 43 team points and the women in fifth place with 25.5 team points.

As most of Friday's events were preliminary races, the Lobos managed most of their points from the 10,000-meter run, including 16 points for the men and 12 points for the women.

Nicholas Kipruto and Sean Stam went second and third in the men's long distance run, with Kipruto clocking a 31:23.54 time for eight team points and Stam a 31:25.09 time for six team points. Pierre Malherbe finished seventh with a 31:53.51 time to supply two points.

For the women, Ruth Senior raced to a second-place 36:43.32 time, and Lacey Oeding posted her own 37:30.68 time for fifth place. The pair earned eight and four points, respectively.  

Other highlights for the Lobos included Django Lovett's silver medal in the men's high jump and Kendall Spencer's bronze medal in the men's long jump. Lovett registered a 6-foot, 10.25-inch (2.09 meter) mark to tally eight points for the Lobos, while Spencer notched a 24-1 (7.34m) leap to capture six team points.

Ty Kirk also netted a point for the men with his eighth-place, 23-2 (7.06m) long jump.

In the women's 3000m steeplechase, Imogen Ainsworth and Kirsty Milner combined for six team points, as Ainsworth recorded a fifth-place run of 11:27.12 and Milner tallied a seventh-place run of 11:37.84.

The women's pole vault also contributed points for the women, as Nathalie Busk set a new personal record of 12-7.5 (3.85m) to secure six team points and Margo Tucker (12-3.5 [5.75m]) tacked on another half point.

Aasha Marler's eighth-place, 18-1.5 (5.52m) long jump also added a point for the women.

A number of Lobo also produced mark that qualified them for action in tomorrow's finals. For the men, Beejay Lee (100m, 200m), Lamaar Thomas (100m), Derek Montoya (400m), Sam Evans (800m), James Senior (800m), De'Vron Walker (110m hurdles) and Chaz Lewis (400m hurdles) all qualified, as did Kayla Fisher-Taylor (100m, 200m), Shirley Pitts (400m), Josephine Moultrie (800m) and Precious Selmon (100m hurdles) for the women.

Action for the ultimate day of the championships starts 10:30 a.m. with the women's shot put, and ends with the men's 4x400 relay at 4:05 p.m.

Check back tomorrow for a full UNM recap of the MW Outdoor Championships, including complete meet results and photos. Also, be sure to stay up-to-date with results for this meet by visiting the Mountain West's official website at TheMWC.com