Aztec Track & Field to Compete in MW Championships

Feb. 22, 2012



The San Diego State track and field team heads to Albuquerque, N.M., this weekend for the 2012 Mountain West Indoor Track and Field Championships. The three-day meet runs from Thursday (Feb. 23) through Saturday (Feb. 25) at the Albuquerque Convention Center.

The Aztecs will look to improve on last year's fourth-place finish, a year after taking third in 2010, which was the team's best finish since 2004.

SDSU has nine individual top-five marks heading into the championships. Sophomore Shanieka Thomas owns the top triple jump mark in the country at 43 feet, 9 ¼ inches and still is the only athlete to automatically qualify for the NCAA Indoor Championships in the event. She is also ranked third in the MW in the long jump with a leap of 19-09.75, and will run the open 200 and 4x400 as well.

Senior Whitney Ashley is first in the shot put (55-07.50) in a mark that is also eighth in the nation. Additionally, she's sixth in the weight throw (62-05.00) heading into the championships.

Sophomore Allison Reaser's time of 8.53 seconds in the 60-meter hurdles, meanwhile, is in a tie for first in the MW. Reaser, the defending MW indoor pentathlon and outdoor heptathlon champion, is also scheduled to compete in Thursday's pentathlon, and the 200, long jump and the 4x400-meter relay as well.

Kelsy Hintz's mark of 13-04.25 has her tied for first heading into the weekend. She has improved in each of her meets and is tied for 27th in the country.

Other top-five marks in the conference heading into the championships are junior Alex Evans in the triple jump (third, 40-01.50), and redshirt freshman Jasmine Burrell in the shot put (fourth, 49-11.75) and the weight throw (fourth, 63-02.00).

Junior Marianne Hogan figures to lead the distance crew. The 5,000-meter indoor school record holder will make her debut at this weekend's championships, running the 3K, the 5K and the anchor leg (1,600) of the distance medley relay.

Live real-time results will be posted on the conference's official website at