All-American Caldwell Selected as MW Student-Athlete of the Year

March 14, 2013

Mountain West Release

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — University of New Mexico track and field athlete Luke Caldwell has been named the Mountain West Men's Indoor Track & Field Student-Athlete of the Year Thursday.

Caldwell, a junior from Betchworth, England, earned honors at the conference and national level in his debut indoor track and field season for the Lobos, which culminated in an All-American performance at the NCAA Championships.  

He placed eighth in the men's 5,000-meter run last week at the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships, finishing in 13 minutes, 46.44 seconds. He owns two of the five fastest 5K times in New Mexico history.

For his performance at the indoor championships, he was accorded the honor of First-Team All-American by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Caldwell also won two events at the 2013 MW Indoor Championships in February, and took third in another to help the New Mexico men win its first MW team title in program history.

He claimed the conference crowns in the 3000 and 5000, running to times of 8:14.66 (a MW Indoor Championships record) and 14:30.30, respectively. He also nabbed third in the mile run.

Overall, Caldwell nabbed three All-MW selections, just the third time in conference history an athlete has earned three or more all-conference honors at the MW Indoor Championships. He is first track athlete to have accomplished that feat.

Caldwell also set the New Mexico and MW record in the 5K. His clocking of 13:40.49, which he recorded on Feb. 8, 2013 in Seattle, Wash., finished as the eighth-fastest time indoors in the NCAA this year.

This is the second consecutive year a Lobos has been named MW Student-Athlete of the Year. 2012 NCAA indoor long jump champion Kendall Spencer was selected last year. Prior to that, the last time New Mexico received the honor was 2009, when Lee Emanuel and Sandy Fortner swept the honors.

The Student-Athlete of the Year award recognizes the outstanding male and female athletes in the sport of indoor track and field. Student-athletes are nominated and selected by the head coaches at each member institution. 

San Diego State junior Shanieka Thomas was selected for the women.