Mountain West Announces Indoor Track & Field Student-Athletes of the Year

March 15, 2012


New Mexico's Kendall Spencer and TCU's Whitney Gipson have been selected as the Mountain West Men's and Women's Indoor Track & Field Student-Athletes of the Year, respectively.

Hailing from San Mateo, Calif, Spencer was crowned national champion in the men's long jump at the NCAA Division I Indoor Track and Field Championships on March 9 in Nampa, Idaho. Spencer won the event with a MW-record jump of 26'-3.50," which also set a new school record in the event.

Gipson, from Newark, Texas, won the women's long jump title last weekend at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships, posting a mark of 22'-8.00." The senior's jump ties the NCAA all-time record set by Auburn's Elva Goulbourne and sets new benchmarks for TCU, the Mountain West, Jacksons Track Complex and NCAA Indoor Championships meet.

The Student-Athlete of the Year award recognizes the outstanding male and female athletes in the sport of indoor track and field. Student-athletes are nominated and selected by the head coaches at each member institution.