TCU's Gipson Promoted to Bowerman Watch List

March 15, 2012


TCU senior Whitney Gipson was named to the Watch List for The Bowerman Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). The Bowerman is presentedannually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiatetrack & field athletes in the nation.

Gipson soared to win the women's long jump gold medal at the 2012 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships last weekend in Nampa, Idaho, matching the NCAA record with a top jump of 22-8 feet (6.91m).

The North Richland Hills, Texas native hit the historic mark on her fifth attempt to pull away from the rest of the field and tie the NCAA all-time record set by Auburn's Elva Goulbourne in 2002. Gipson also rewrote new benchmarks for TCU, the Mountain West, Jacksons Track Complex and the NCAA Indoor Championships meet. Her mark is currently tied for the world lead and is an Olympic standard.

Gipson became the first female Frog to ever win an NCAA Championship and the eighth TCU track & field individual overall. She is also the first ever NCAA champion from a field event for the Frogs and just the fifth TCU athlete to claim an individual title, joining former Frogs legends Raymond Stewart, Kim Collins, Khadevis Robinson and Jackson Langat.

Among her postseason honors this season, Gipson was also named the Mountain West Women’s Indoor Athlete of the Year Thursday. The TCU senior was recognized as the South Central Region Women’s Field Athlete of the Year earlier this month.

Created in 2009 in honor of former Oregon men's track & field and crosscountry coach Bill Bowerman, the award considers performances from both theindoor and outdoor seasons. Finalists are announced after the NCAA outdoor championship meet and voting by USTFCCCA members and fans determines a winner.

TCU will kickoff the outdoor season at home this weekend, hosting the TCU Invitational at the Lowdon Track Complex, March 15-17. The collegiate field will have the javelin, hammer throw and women’s discus Thursday (March 15) with a full day of events Friday (March 16). The teams competing include Baylor, Houston, North Texas, SMU, Texas State, UT Arlington and TCU. March 17 will feature over 30 local high schools.