WFAA Channel 8 Highlights Gipson's Senior Season

March 22, 2012


FORT WORTH, Texas -- TCU senior long jumper Whitney Gipson was recently featured on WFAA Channel 8, recapping her historic jump for an NCAA title and looking ahead to the outdoor season.

Reporter George Riba made the trip to Lowdon Track Complex earlier this week and talked with the North Richland Hills, Texas native on her success as a Horned Frog and the progression that she has made in her four years on campus. The package also highlights Gipson's athletic abiliity as a member of TCU's 4x100 relay squad and on Gipson setting her sights on the Summer Olympic Games in London.

Gipson enjoyed one of the most successful indoor campaigns of any TCU track and field athlete, soaring to win the women's long jump gold medal at the 2012 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships, matching the NCAA record with a top jump of 22-8 feet (6.91m). She hit the historic mark on her fifth attempt to pull away from the rest of the field and tie the NCAA all-time record set by Auburn's Elva Goulbourne in 2002. Gipson also rewrote new benchmarks for TCU, the Mountain West, Jacksons Track Complex and the NCAA Indoor Championships meet. Her mark tied for the world lead and was an Olympic standard.

Gipson became the first female Frog to ever win an NCAA Championship and the eighth TCU track & field individual overall. She is also the first ever NCAA champion from a field event for the Frogs and just the fifth TCU athlete to claim an individual title, joining former Frogs legends Raymond Stewart, Kim Collins, Khadevis Robinson and Jackson Langat.

Among her postseason honors this season, Gipson was named the Mountain West Women’s Indoor Athlete of the Year. The TCU senior was recognized as the South Central Region Women’s Field Athlete of the Year earlier this month. She was honored by Sports Illustrated as part of the "Faces in the Crowd" section for the March 12 issue and is currently on the BOwerman Watch List.

TCU will resume the outdoor season Saturday at the Bobby Lane Invitational, hosted by UT Arlington.