Eight Nevada Student-Athletes Named to MW All-Conference Team

May 13, 2013


The Mountain West announced its Women's Outdoor Track & Field All-Conference Team today. All-Conference selections are awarded to the top-three finishers in each event at the MW Outdoor Championships, which were held May 8-11 at Sheila Tarr-Smith Field at Myron Partridge Stadium in Las Vegas, Nev.
The University of Nevada track and field team was represented by four student athletes in the individual events: Deborah Amoah (Long Jump), La Tijera Avery (High Jump), Demerey Kirsch (3000 Steeplechase), and Kerri Simmons (Shot Put). Additionally, Nevada's 4x100 relay team comprised of Samantha Calhoun, Angelica Earls, Tanisha Hawkins, and Kashae Knox was recognized as well.

The Wolf Pack concluded the 2013 MW Outdoor Championships over the weekend, finishing the event in fifth place. Amoah had a record-breaking outing in the long jump in day two of the championships, stretching out to a mark of 19'9.75 to beat her previously held program best of 19'8.25 set last season. The senior battled a tough field of competitors to take third.

In day three, Kirsch won bronze in the 3,000 meter steeplechase, finishing the event with a time of 10:40.55, just seconds off of her third-best time on Nevada's all-time list.

La Tijera Avery continued her dominance in the high jump in the final day of action, winning the event by clearing a height of 5'-10.75''. Avery's mark eclipsed her previous program record of 5'-10.5" that was set this year. The height also tied the stadium record and tied the fourth-best jump in MW Championship history. Kerri Simmons won the shot put title with a record-breaking throw of 53'-2.75", which ranks third all-time at the MW Championship and fourth all-time in the conference. The distance smashed her previous program best throw of 51'-1.75" that was set earlier this year.

The Wolf Pack 4x100 team claimed first place, edging out UNLV with a time of 44.37. The time broke the program record that was set by the group during the close of the regular season this year and is .01 seconds off the stadium record. The finish also ranks third all-time at both the MW Championship and all-time in MW history.