Bulldogs Celebrate 2012-13 Season

May 16, 2013

By: Matt Burkholder

FRESNO, Calif. - The Fresno State cross country and track and field teams got together Thursday night to celebrate their seasons and honor those who excelled at their annual end of the year banquet.

The track and field team wrapped up its season last week at its inaugural Mountain West Championship Meet with two individual championships and a title in the men's 4x100m relay. Following the championships, 12 Bulldogs were named MW All-conference and 14 Bulldogs were announced as qualifiers for the NCAA West Regional, which is to be held in Austin, Texas May 23-25.

The 13 seniors on the team were honored at the banquet and seniors Brennen Davis and Michelle Rose took top honors as they were named Bulldogs of the Year.

Below is a complete listing of the awards presented Thursday night:

Bulldog of the Year: Brennen Davis and Michelle Rose

Track Athlete of the Year: Michael Jamieson and Breeauna Thompson

Field Athlete of the Year: Devin Harrison and Je'Nia Sears

Most Improved: Devante O'Connor and Kyra Johnson

Bulldog Strong Award: Derek Oliver and AnaManu Folau
Created last season to acknowledge the athlete who defined willpower, somebody that fought through adversity and sustained steady contributions to the team's goals all while maintaining coachability, positive attitude and high morale.

Cross Country Athlete of the Year: Olivier Bernard and Saylah Barserian

"Discover Fresno State Athletics" - Be sure to LIKE Fresno State Athletics on Facebook and follow your Bulldogs on Twitter (@FSAthletics).