Rebel Duo Heads To National Meet

June 5, 2012

LAS VEGAS (UNLVRebels.com) - The UNLV track & field program will send two student-athletes to Des Moines, Iowa for the 2012 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Seniors Brett Zorich and Amanda Bingson will participate in the four-day meet that will begin on The four-day meet will begin on Wednesday, June 6 and conclude on Saturday, June 9, at Drake Stadium on the campus of Drake University.

Zorich, who hails from Alamo, Calif., is seeded eighth overall and will be the first of the Rebel duo to compete with her semifinal in the 800m set for tomorrow evening at 6:30 pm CT (4:30 pm PT). She ran a personal-best time of 2:05.39 in the quarterfinals at the West Preliminary in Austin to qualify for the national meet. She managed to shave more than two seconds off of her first-round effort of 2:07.64, which, at the time, was a personal best.

Bingson, a native of Las Vegas, will be making her second consecutive appearance in the national meet, which is being held in Des Moines for the second straight year, after earning All-American honors with a fourth-place finish in 2011. She enters the 2012 competition as the top seed after throwing an NCAA meet record (233-1/71.04m) two weeks ago at the NCAA West Preliminary in Austin. She will have to wait until Thursday afternoon (3:00 pm CT/1:00 pm PT) for the trials and finals in the hammer.