Seven Mountain West Teams and 26 Individuals Named USTFCCCA All-Academic for 2011-12

July 26, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Seven Mountain West men's and women's track & field teams and 26 individuals were honored recently by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) for their work in the classroom during the 2011-12 school year.

The Colorado State and Wyoming men's and women's teams, along with the women's teams from Boise State, TCU and UNLV were among 256 men's and women's NCAA programs to receive 2012 USTFCCCA Division I All-Academic Track & Field Team honors. Teams earn the distinction by carrying a cumulative team grade point average (GPA) of 3.00 or better.

On the women's side, 18 MW student-athletes from six member institutions received All-Academic Team honors. For the men, eight individuals representing three MW institutions were named to the All-Academic Team.

The USTFCCCA honors Division I individuals for their academic and athletic achievements during the indoor and outdoor track & field seasons. To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track & Field Team, a student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either of the following athletic standards: for the indoor season, finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by; or for the outdoor season, participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships.

2012 USTFCCCA All-Academic Awards
Men's All-Academic Teams
Colorado State - 3.02
Wyoming - 3.23

Women's All-Academic Teams
Boise State - 3.15
Colorado State - 3.14
TCU - 3.14
UNLV - 3.05
Wyoming - 3.25

Men's All-Academic Team
Kobi Rex, Air Force
Will Lohman, Boise State
Justin Malnes, Boise State
Eetu Viitala, Boise State
Nicholas Ekel, Wyoming
Gregory Miller, Wyoming
Joseph Plante, Wyoming
Garrett Zans, Wyoming

Women's All-Academic Team
Paige Blackburn, Air Force
Kimber Shealy, Air Force
Debra Johnson, Boise State
Kendra Gerk, Colorado State
Kaitlin Hanenburg, Colorado State
Kiah Hicks, Colorado State
Hannah Pensack-Rinehart, Colorado State
Nicole Peters, Colorado State
Samantha Collins, TCU
Kelly Dawson, TCU
Kelsey Samuels, TCU
Megan Smith, TCU
Emily Blok, UNLV
Christine Lowe, UNLV
Kelsey Williamson, UNLV
Ashley Hutchinson, Wyoming
Erin Kirby, Wyoming
Candace Wollert, Wyoming