CSU women's golf, cross country recognized by NCAA

June 5, 2013

NCAA Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Colorado State women’s golf program and the women’s cross country team were recognized Wednesday by the NCAA when it released its list of teams for the Academic Progress Rating (APR) Public Recognition Awards, which highlight programs that have posted multi-year APR scores in the top 10 percent for their respective sports.

This year’s awards, which were given out to 975 programs nationally, recognize teams for their APR performance from 2008-09 through 2011-12.

It marks the third time overall, and the second consecutive year, that the CSU women’s golf program has received APR Public Recognition since the NCAA began tracking the data in 2004-05. The women’s cross country program is being recognized for the first time.

“Our student athletes understand the commitment and dedication it takes to excel in the classroom and on the golf course,” said women’s golf head coach Susan Jennings. “These athletes miss a great deal of class time, so I am very proud of them for the extra time and energy they put in to being successful academically and graduating in four years.  Our staff in the academic center also deserves credit for the providing such great support to our student- athletes.”

“We are very proud of our student-athletes’ continued commitment to performing at the highest level academically," added cross country head coach Art Siemers. "The discipline and dedication it takes to be a successful distance runner are the same attributes that it takes to be a winner in the classroom."

In addition to their success in the classroom, the CSU women’s golf program has experienced great success on the links in the past 14 seasons as a member of the Mountain West. The program has competed as a team in four NCAA regional tournaments since 2001.

The women’s cross country has also excelled in competition, finish in the top three in the Mountain West championships in 13 of 14 seasons since the formation of the league in 1999-2000, including a conference championship during the 2007 campaign.