UNLV to Host 2012 Mountain West Cross Country Championships

Oct. 23, 2012

  • 2012 MW Cross Country Championships Central

    COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The 2012 Mountain West Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships will be held on Friday, Oct. 26 at Silver Bowl Park in Las Vegas, Nev. The women's 6-kilometer race will begin at 10 a.m. PT, while the men's 8-kilometer race will start at 10:40 a.m. PT.

    On the men's side, defending Conference champion New Mexico will seek its fourth-consecutive league title. The No. 12-ranked Lobos are led by junior Sean Stam, who holds the top 8K time in the Conference this season with a time of 23:59.0 and was the top MW finisher at the 2011 NCAA National Championship. Boise State and Air Force are expected to challenge UNM for the title. The Broncos are led by senior Barak Watson (23:59.1), while the Falcons' top runners this season are junior Isaiah Bragg (24:11.3) and senior Jeremy Drenckhahn, who was the 2011 MW runner-up.

    The No. 17 New Mexico women's team will be competing for its fifth-straight league championship. The Lobos had to replace four all-MW first team seniors from the 2011 squad and look to have found some worthy contenders. Senior Josephine Moultrie (19:56.0), junior Charlotte Arter (20:25.0) and senior Lacey Oeding (20:37.0) hold the top three 6K times this season in the MW. Colorado State, Boise State and Air Force will challenge UNM. The Rams are led by senior Holly Keeper (20:43.0), while the Falcons are paced by senior Jen Bremser (20:59.8). Junior Tessa Murray leads the Broncos with a season-best time of 21:07.7.

    Complete results, recaps, race video, post-event interviews, and photo galleries will be available at the 2012 MW Cross Country Championships Central on TheMWC.com.