New Mexico Sweeps Mountain West Cross Country Championships for Fourth Year in a Row

Oct. 26, 2012

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - The University of New Mexico claimed the 2012 Mountain West Cross Country Championships hosted by UNLV, on Friday at Silver Bowl Park.

For the fourth year in a row, New Mexico captured the men's title with 22 points, placing five runners in the top 10. Finishing behind the Lobos in second place was Air Force with 49 points and six runners in the top 15. Colorado State took third place with 75 points, while Boise State (102), Wyoming 147 and Fresno State (154) placed fourth through sixth, respectively.

New Mexico junior Luke Caldwell took the men's individual title, finishing the men's 8K race in a time of 24 minutes, 26.70 seconds, beating out Boise State junior Barak Watson, who earned runner-up honors with a mark of 24:34.91. Caldwell earned MW Male Athlete of the Year honors for his performance. Finishing in third place was New Mexico junior Patrick Zacharias, who covered the course in 24:38.49, followed by MW Freshman of the Year Elmar Engholm of New Mexico in fourth with a time of 24:39.76. Rounding out the top five was Colorado State junior Alex Muntefering (24:40.64).

For the fifth-straight year, New Mexico earned the women's title with a total of 35 points. Colorado State finished second with 63 points, followed by Boise State with 72. Air Force scored 92 points for fourth place, while Nevada (149), Wyoming (151), Fresno State (204), San Diego State (210) and UNLV (278) rounded out fifth through ninth, respectively.

Winning the women's 6K race and earning Mountain West Female Athlete of the Year honors was New Mexico's Lacey Oeding. The senior clocked a time of 20:49.97, finishing just ahead of teammate junior Charlotte Arter, who posted a second-place time of 20:51.62. Finishing third and fourth, respectively, on the women's side was Boise State sophomore Marisa VanderMalle (20:56.30) and Wyoming sophomore Holly Page, who clocked a time of 21:02.32. New Mexico senior Josephine Moultrie placed fifth with a mark of 21:05.28.

2012 All-Mountain West Women's Cross Country Team
First Team
Lacey Oeding, Sr., New Mexico
Charlotte Arter, Jr., New Mexico
Marisa VanderMalle, So., Boise State
Holly Page, So., Wyoming
Josephine Moultrie, Sr., New Mexico
Tessa Murray, Jr., Boise State
Samantha Diaz, Jr., Nevada

Second Team
Whitney Henderson, Jr., Colorado State
Melissa Fuerst, Sr., Air Force
Kaitlin Hanenburg, Jr., Colorado State
Jen Bremser, Sr., Air Force
Hannah Pensack-Rinehart, Jr., Colorado State
Shawna Winnegar, Sr., New Mexico
Imogen Ainsworth, Sr., New Mexico

Women's Athlete of the Year - Lacey Oeding, Sr., New Mexico
Women's Freshman of the Year - Emily Myers, Nevada
Women's Coach of the Year - Joe Franklin, New Mexico

2012 All-Mountain West Men's Cross Country Team
First Team
Luke Caldwell, Jr., New Mexico
Barak Watson, Sr., Boise State
Pat Zacharias, Jr., New Mexico
Elmar Engholm, Fr., New Mexico
Alex Muntefering, Jr., Colorado State
Adam Bitchell, Jr., New Mexico
Isaiah Bragg, Jr., Air Force

Second Team
Sean Stam, Jr., New Mexico
Matt Bell, Sr., Air Force
Jeremy Drenckhahn, Sr., Air Force
Elliot Myers, So., Air Force
Riley Coates, So., Air Force
Andrew Quallio, Sr., Air Force
Christian Meyer, Jr., Colorado State

Men's Athlete of the Year - Luke Caldwell, Jr., New Mexico
Men's Freshman of the Year - Elmar Engholm, New Mexico
Men's Coach of the Year - Joe Franklin, New Mexico