New Mexico Women's Cross Country Team Advances to 2012 NCAA National Championship

Nov. 9, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The New Mexico women's cross country team received an automatic bid to the 2012 NCAA Division I Championship after placing second at the Mountain Regional at Collindale Golf Course in Fort Collins, Colo., today. The Lobos are currently the only Mountain West team advancing to the finals on Saturday, Nov. 17 at E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Ky. At-large selections will be announced after 10 a.m. MT on Saturday, Nov. 10 on

The 2012 Mountain West champions were led by senior Josephine Moultrie with a fifth-place time of 20:25.1 in the 6-kilometer race. Moultrie was the first of four Lobos to cross the finish line among the top 25. Junior Charlotte Arter placed 10th (20:54.3), followed by 2012 Mountain West individual champion senior Lacey Oeding in 18th (21:07.7) and senior Shawna Winnegar in 24th (21:13.4). Sophomore Kristen Follett rounded out the team scoring for the Lobos with a 38th-place finish of 21:35.9. UNM scored 95 points.

Mountain Regional host Colorado State's women's team made a solid showing, placing fifth as a team with 173 points. The Rams were led by junior Whitney Henderson, who placed 20th with a time of 21:10.0, and senior Holly Keeper with a 26th-place finish (21:18.8). Air Force finished 11th (328 points), while Nevada placed 13th (361) and Wyoming was close behind in 14th place (364). In the West Regional women's race held in Seattle, Wash., Boise State placed 10th (308 points) and San Diego State finished 25th (690). The top MW individual finisher in the West was Bronco junior Tessa Murray with a time of 20:34.9 for 32nd place.

Mountain West teams on the men's side are awaiting the NCAA selection committee's at-large decision on Saturday. New Mexico, the 2012 MW champion, is among the teams in the pool for one of the 13 at-large bids. The Lobos placed fourth in the 10-kilometer competition at the Mountain Regional with 108 points. 2012 MW men's individual champion Luke Caldwell was the first Lobo to the finish with a 12th-place time of 30:21.9 with the next four point-scorers finishing in the top 31.

The Air Force men placed sixth with 231 points, led by senior Matt Bell (36th; 21:12.0). Host Colorado State finished 9th with 265 points, while Wyoming was 13th with 283. In the West Region, Boise State placed ninth with 263 points. Bronco senior Barak Watson was the top MW finisher with a time of 30:24.9 for 34th place.