UC Riverside Rallies To Hand SDSU 6-3 Loss

April 2, 2013

Box Score

RIVERSIDE, Calif. - UC Riverside rallied for five runs in the bottom of the eighth inning to erase a two-run deficit and defeat San Diego State, 6-3, Tuesday evening at the Riverside Sports Complex. The Highlanders, who lost to the Aztecs in San Diego on Monday, improved to 14-10 with the victory while SDSU dropped to 14-15.

With the loss the Aztecs wasted an excellent pitching performance by freshman Tyler Sapp. The right-hander from Yucaipa, Calif., went seven innings allowing one run on just three hits with a pair of walks and seven strikeouts. He was not involved in the decision, however, as he was not in the game for UCR's five-run rally.

After falling behind to a run in the bottom of the first, SDSU tied the game in the fourth on Ty France's two-out double that scored Jake Romanski, who had walked ahead of him. The visitors then took the lead in the ensuing frame, again with two outs as Greg Allen singled and came around when Tim Zier's slow roller was thrown down the right field line by Riverside pitcher Kevin Sprague.

The Aztecs added a third run in the top of the eighth on a two-out double by Ryan Muno and RBI single by Romanski. It looked to be the insurance run that SDSU was looking for and they brought on senior Ethan Miller from the bullpen to begin the bottom of the eighth.

The Highlanders proceeded to score their five runs (four earned) on four hits, a walk and an error. With the score tied 3-3 and two men on, the big blow came in the form of a triple to center by Kyle Boudreau, who also scored on the play on a throwing error. Miller would be charged with the loss to fall to 3-2 on the season.

UCR reliever Zach Varela was the beneficiary of his team's outburst as he picked up the win to improve to 2-0. Closer Trevor Franck retired the Aztecs in order in the top of the ninth to notch his seventh save.

The Aztecs now return home to host a three-game Mountain West series against Nevada that gets underway on Friday, April 5, at 6:00 p.m. at Tony Gwynn Stadium.