Baseball Set To Host Annual Alumni Game

Feb. 3, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas - The TCU baseball team will give fans a sneak peak at the 2012 squad when they host their annual Alumni game on Saturday afternoon. First pitch is slated for 1 p.m. at Lupton Stadium. Admission is free.

Fans will get to see a number of newcomers take the field in addition to returning starters Jason Coats, Brance Rivera, Kyle Von Tungeln and Josh Elander. Five pitchers are slated to throw for the Frogs with Trey Teakell getting the start. Also scheduled to throw for the varsity squad are Kevin Allen, Tyler Duffie, Justin Scharf and Jerrick Suiter.

A number of former players will make their way to the field on Saturday morning. Newcomers to the Alumni roster include 2011 draft picks Matt Purke, Taylor Featherston, Jerome Pena, Erik Miller, Steven Maxwell Jimmie Pharr and Joe Weik. 2010 draft picks Bryan Holaday, Tyler Lockwood, Greg Holle, Paul Gerrish and Matt Curry are also slated to make an appearance for the alumni squad. Others returning to Lupton Stadium will be Lance Broadway, Clint Arnold, Matt Carpenter, Keith Conlon, Dillon Farish, Taylor Cragin, Brad Furnish, Chad Huffman, Matt Vern and Sam Demel.

The Horned Frogs, ranked as high as No. 10 in the preseason, will get the regular season underway on Feb. 17 when it hosts No. 22 Ole Miss. First pitch of the 2012 campaign is slated for 6:30 p.m. at Lupton Stadium.