Aaron Judge and Trent Garrison Garner MW Honors

Feb. 8, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West Conference announced Aaron Judge and Trent Garrison as MW First-Team honorees in its annual baseball preseason awards on Thursday while the league voted the 'Dogs to a fourth-place finish in their inaugural season in the conference.

Defending Mountain West champion New Mexico is predicted to win its second consecutive regular season MW baseball title in 2013, according to a vote of the six MW head coaches. The Lobos received five first-place votes and 35 points overall. San Diego State received the remaining first-place vote and 26 points to edge out MW newcomers Nevada (23 points) and Fresno State (22 points) for second place. UNLV was picked fifth (13 points), followed by Air Force in sixth (7 points).

Fresno State (31-28, 8-10 WAC), the 2012 WAC tournament champion, returns 2012 TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby champion Judge (OF, Jr.) and WAC All-Conference honorees Garrison (1B, Sr.) and Jake Alvarez (3B, Jr.). Head coach Mike Batesole led the Bulldogs to their 34th NCAA Tournament appearance, sixth in the past seven seasons, in 2012.

The 2013 Fresno State baseball season begins Friday, Feb. 15 when the ’Dogs host UC Santa Barbara at 6:35 p.m. Season tickets are available through the Bulldog Ticket Office by calling 559-278-DOGS or visiting www.gobulldogs.com.


Rk. Team (1st-place votes) Points
1. New Mexico (5) 35
2. San Diego State (1) 26
3. Nevada 23
4. Fresno State 22
5. UNLV 13
6. Air Force 7


C – Mitchell Garver, Sr. New Mexico
1B – Trent Garrison, Sr. Fresno State
2B – Tim Zier, Jr. San Diego State
3B – DJ Peterson, Jr. New Mexico
SS – Alex Allbritton, Sr. New Mexico
OF – Brandon Bayardi, Sr. UNLV
OF – Aaron Judge, Jr. Fresno State
OF – Ryan Padilla, So. New Mexico
UT/DH – Garrett Custons, Sr. Air Force
P – Bradey Shipley, Jr. Nevada
P – Hobie McClain, Sr. New Mexico

"Discover Fresno State Athletics!" -- The flagship radio station of Fresno State baseball is 940 AM ESPN radio.