Baseball Tabbed To Win Seventh Straight League Title

Feb. 10, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas - The TCU baseball team was unanimously selected to win its seventh straight league title in a vote of the five league coaches. Five Horned Frogs were selected to the preseason all-conference team.

The Horned Frogs received all five first-place votes and 25 points overall. UNLV edged out New Mexico for second place with 16 points, while the Lobos picked up 15 points in third place. San Diego State was picked fourth (12 points), followed by Air Force in fifth (7 points).

TCU, under the direction of head coach Jim Schlossnagle, returns 13 letterwinners from a 2011 squad that was 43-19 overall, 20-3 in MW action and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the eighth consecutive season. The Horned Frogs are ranked in several preseason national polls, including No. 15 by Baseball America, No. 10 by Collegiate Baseball and No. 13 by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

The Horned Frogs are led by returning all-Mountain West performers Josh Elander (C, Jr.), Jantzen Witte (3B, Jr.), Jason Coats (OF, Sr.), Brance Rivera (OF, Sr.) and Freshman All-American pitchers Andrew Mitchell and Stefan Crichton. Elander has earned several preseason All-America honors in 2012.

Earning a spot on the preseason all-conference team were Elander, Witte, Coats, Rivera and Mitchell.

The 2012 season gets underway Friday, Feb. 17 when the Frogs play host to No. 22 Ole Miss. First pitch is slated for 6:30 p.m. at Lupton Stadium.