Shannon Named To Olerud Watch List

April 27, 2013

LAS VEGAS ( - UNLV senior Mark Shannon has been named to the 2013 Olerud Watch List, the College Baseball Hall of Fame announced on Friday.

The Olerud Award, presented on June 29 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's annual Night of Champions, recognizes baseball players who excel both on the mound and in the field. The watch list features 25 players from 18 conferences.

Shannon, out of Littleton, Colo., was named to the list after averaging .313 from the plate and leading the Rebels with 35 RBI. He has also hit 11 doubles and three home runs this season and has made some spectacular plays in center field. From the mound, Shannon has been dominate in midweek action, owning a 4-2 record to go with a 4.02 ERA. His 37 strikeouts rank fourth on the team.

"Mark is the best centerfielder I have ever coached. He is incredibly talented and makes unbelievable plays in the outfield," head coach Tim Chambers said. "It very difficult to play every inning at center and then come in and pitch as well as he has. Mark is also a very tough kid and often plays and pitches banged up because he just loves to compete. He is a winner and a great asset to our team."

Shannon started his collegiate career at Northern Colorado and was the Great West's Newcomer of the Year. He also earned Louisville Slugger and Ping! Baseball All-American honors as a freshman. He batted .326 in 40 games and hit three home runs to go with 34 RBI. From the mound he was 6-3 with a 4.52 ERA. After his first season, he transferred to Central Arizona, where he was named to the NJCAA All-Region First Team. He hit .294 at the junior college level and carried a 2.19 ERA with an 8-2 record in 16 appearances on the mound. In his first season as a Rebel,.313 recorded the most plate appearances on the team. From the mound he went 3-3 with a 6.11 ERA.

For more information on the Olerud Award or the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit The full list is below.

Name School Conference Zach Evans Georgia Tech ACC Matt Conway Wake Forest ACC Mike Connolly Maine America East Jacob Mayers Richmond Atlantic 10 Clinton Freeman East Tennessee State Atlantic Sun Taylor Kaufman Iowa Big 10 Zach Morton Northwestern Big 10 Tanner Witt Kansas State Big 12 Randy McCurry Oklahoma State Big 12 Nick Howard Virginia Big East David Olson Campbell Big South Ryan Retz High Point Big South Michael Lorenzen Cal State Fullerton Big West Jake Gonzalez Houston Baptist Great West Nick Miller Northern Colorado Great West Jake Peter Creighton Missouri Valley Mark Shannon UNLV Mountain West Josh Davis Belmont Ohio Valley Jason Monda Washington State Pac-12 Ryan Lowe Davidson Southern Desmond Russell Jackson State Southwestern Athletic Ryan Wilson Louisiana Lafayette Sun Belt Dylan Christensen CSU Bakersfield WAC Marco Gonzales Gonzaga West Coast