New Mexico and TCU Share 2012 Mountain West Baseball Title

May 20, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - New Mexico (18-6, 33-22) and TCU (18-6, 35-17) shared the 2012 Mountain West regular season baseball title and enter the MW Baseball Championship as the No. 1 and No. 2 seeds, respectively. The MW Championship will be held at Earl E. Wilson Stadium in Las Vegas, Nev., on Thursday-Sunday, May 24-27. It will be a four-team double-elimination tournament.

The Lobos earned the No. 1 seed with a sweep of Air Force in the last weekend of the regular season and a tiebreak advantage over TCU with a 5-1 record over No. 3 seed San Diego State in 2012. The Horned Frogs will be the No. 2 seed after a 2-1 weekend series win over San Diego State, and a 4-2 finish against the Aztecs for the 2012 series.

TCU turns right around and faces San Diego State in the Championship opener on Thursday, May 24, at 3 p.m. PT. The Aztecs (12-12, 24-32) will be the No. 3 seed. It will be the first time the two teams have faced one another in Mountain West postseason competition.

Tournament host UNLV (7-17, 26-29) will be the No. 4 seed and play New Mexico on Thursday, May 24, at 7 p.m. PT. The Rebels are 5-3 against the Lobos in the MW tournament. The teams last faced each other in postseason play on May 28, 2010 in an elimination game with the Lobos winning 10-3.

The losers of Thursday's contests will play each other at 3 p.m. PT on Friday, May 25, followed by the winners at 7 p.m. PT. The second elimination game is set for 3 p.m. PT on Saturday, May 26, followed by the winner's bracket game at 7 p.m. PT. If a second championship game is needed, it will be played at 1 p.m. PT on Sunday, May 27.

Every tournament game will be televised on the MountainWest Sports Network (The Mtn. - DirecTV 616). Bill Doleman and Roger Bailey will call the action from Wilson Stadium. Saturday's games will be simulcast on CBS Sports Network (CBSSN - DirecTV 613).

2012 Mountain West Baseball Championship
Earl E. Wilson Stadium, Las Vegas, Nev.
Game Time TV/Webcast
Game 1
No. 2 seed TCU vs. No. 3 seed San Diego State
3 p.m. PT The Mtn.
Game 2
No. 1 seed New Mexico vs. No. 4 seed UNLV
7 p.m. PT The Mtn.
Game 3
Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser
3 p.m. PT The Mtn.
Game 4
Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner
7 p.m. PT The Mtn.
Game 5
Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 loser
3 p.m. PT The Mtn./CBSSN
Game 6
Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 winner
7 p.m. PT The Mtn./CBSSN
Game 7 (if necessary)
Game 6 winner vs. Game 6 loser
if both teams have one loss after Game 6
7 p.m. PT The Mtn.
The Mtn. = MountainWest Sports Network DirecTV 616
CBSSN = CBS Sports Network DirecTV 613
Live stats available for most games.