Six Rebels Earn All-Mountain West Honors

May 22, 2012

LAS VEGAS ( - Six UNLV baseball players earned 2012 All-Mountain West honors as the league announced its all-conference teams on Tuesday. The awards were voted on by the league's five head coaches.

UNLV's six all-league representatives are its most in one year since seven were honored in 2005.

Rebel senior first baseman Trent Cook, junior outfielder Brandon Bayardi and sophomore relief pitcher Zack Hartman were all selected to the first team, while senior shortstop Danny Higa, freshman outfielder Joey Swanner and freshman pitcher Erick Fedde earned second-team honors.

Cook and Bayardi were both 2011 All-MW honorees, while the other four are first-time recipients.

Bayardi led the Rebels in batting average during conference play this season at .359. In 22 games played, he had six doubles, two home runs, 13 RBI and 13 runs scored. His slugging percentage was .513 and his on-base percentage was .475. He also had a fielding percentage of .920.

Cook batted .327 over 24 games with five doubles, a home run, 16 RBI and 10 runs scored. His slugging percentage was .408, his on-base percentage was .394 and he had a fielding percentage of .995 with 205 put outs.

Hartman appeared in 11 conference games, recording a 2-0 mark. He struck out 27 batters and walked just five. He gave up 14 earned runs in 22.2 innings pitched.

Higa also had 16 RBI, hit seven doubles with a home run and scored 13 runs, Swanner batted .313 with six doubles and 13 runs scored, while Fedde went 3-3 in eight conference appearances with an ERA of 2.74. He struck out 35 batters in 49.1 innings pitched, giving up just 15 earned runs.

New Mexico junior catcher Mitchell Garver and sophomore third baseman DJ Peterson were named Co-Players of the Year, TCU freshman Preston Morrison was named both the Pitcher and Freshman of the year, and UNM's Ray Birmingham was awarded Coach of the Year.

The full All-MW announcement may be viewed here:

UNLV will open play in the Mountain West Baseball Championship Tournament on Thursday at 7 p.m. against top-seeded New Mexico at Earl E. Wilson Stadium. All tournament games will be televised on The Mtn.