Record-Tying Six Lobos Named MW Scholar-Athletes

2012-13 Mountain West Scholar-Athletes Get Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Four days after having a program-record 16 student-athletes named Academic All-Mountain West, the University of New Mexico baseball team had six members named Mountain West Scholar-Athletes the conference announced Monday, which ties the 2007 squad for most in a single season.

The MW Scholar-Athlete Award is one of the highest academic honors bestowed by the conference. To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least two academic terms at the member institution, while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better, and have participated in varsity competition in an NCAA-sponsored sport.

Kevin Baumgartner, Drew Bridges, A.J. Carman, Alex Estrella, Sam Haggerty and Josh Melendez were the ones honored. Estrella, whose 4.11 cumulative GPA leads the team, and Melendez were both also named a Scholar-Athlete in 2012, while Baumgartner, Bridges, Carman and Haggerty were all first-year players under head coach Ray Birmingham.

No other baseball team in the MW had more Scholar-Athletes than the Lobos as they finished tied for first with Fresno St. with six apiece. Overall, UNM led the conference for the second straight year as 132 Lobos were named Scholar-Athletes. Wyoming was a distant second with 78. The MW as a whole had a record 623 student-athletes recognized, a conference record.