UNM Becoming Hotbed for All-Americans

June 25, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – In 2012 the University of New Mexico baseball team produced three All-Americans for only the second time in its history as sophomore DJ Peterson, junior Mitchell Garver, and freshman Ryan Padilla were all honored. The only previous time three Lobos were named All-Americans in one season was back in 1993 when Luke Oglesby, Mark Gulseth, and Antonio Fernandez were honored.

Peterson, who won the Mountain West Triple Crown this year, was honored four times: by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA), Collegiate Baseball, the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA), and Baseball America. Collegiate Baseball, the NCBWA, and the ABCA each named him to the first team, while Baseball America placed him on its second team.

Garver was a second-team honoree by Collegiate Baseball and a choice for the third team by both the NCBWA and Baseball America. Ryan Padilla was named a freshman All-American by both Collegiate Baseball and the NCBWA.

This continues a fantastic run of All-Americans at UNM. The Lobos have had at least one player honored every year since Ray Birmingham was named head coach prior to the 2008 season. During his five years at the helm, nine Lobos have been named All-Americans, which is the most the program has ever had in a five-year stretch.

Peterson was named a Freshman All-American last season, Rafael Neda and Justin Howard were honored in 2010, Mike Brownstein and Brian Cavazos-Galvez were honored in 2009, and Neda was also honored as a freshman in 2008.

With three All-Americans leading the way, it is no wonder the Lobos finished near the top of the NCAA in numerous offensive categories. They finished the regular season ranked first in hits, third in slugging, fourth in batting average, fourth in runs, fourth in triples, and sixth in doubles. They won their first regular-season championship since 2000, their second straight Mountain West Tournament championship, and advanced to the postseason for a school-record third consecutive year.

In addition to winning the MW Triple Crown, Peterson was named a Golden Spikes Award semifinalist, a Dick Howser Trophy semifinalist, and was Co-Mountain West Player of the Year with Garver. Garver is also a finalist for the Johnny Bench Award, which will be awarded June 28. Padilla was named to the All-Mountain West second team and earned National Hitter of the Week honors by the NCBWA for games played May 14-20.

The Lobos have now had 27 players earn 33 total All-American honors. Peterson (2011, 2012), Neda (2008, 2010), Jordan Pacheco (2005, 2007), Chris Carlson (2005, 2006), Aaron Sisk (1999, 2000), and Travis Young (1994, 1996) are the Lobos to earn All-American honors in multiple seasons.


Sam Suplizio - 1953
Aaron Cain – 1977
Duffy Ryan – 1980
Keith Hagman – 1980
Jim Fregosi – 1985
Dean Duane – 1985
Luke Oglesby – 1993
Mark Gulseth – 1993
Antonio Fernandez – 1993
Travis Young – 1994 (Freshman)
Mark Wulfert – 1995
Travis Young – 1996
Lon Yamaguchi – 1996 (Freshman)
Aaron Sisk – 1999
Aaron Sisk – 2000
Matt Young – 2002 (Freshman)
Chris Alexander – 2003
Daniel Stovall – 2004 (Freshman)
Dusty Young – 2003
Chris Carlson – 2005
Jordan Pacheco – 2005 (Freshman)
Chris Carlson – 2006
Danny Ray Herrera - 2006
Jordan Pacheco – 2007
Rafael Neda – 2008 (Freshman)
Brian Cavazos-Galvez – 2009
Mike Brownstein – 2009
Justin Howard – 2010
Rafael Neda – 2010
DJ Peterson – 2011 (Freshman)
DJ Peterson – 2012
Mitchell Garver – 2012
Ryan Padilla – 2012 (Freshman)