UNLV's Bennett Named to Watch Lists for Oscar Robertson, Waymon Tisdale awards

Jan. 31, 2013

LAS VEGAS (UNLVRebels.com) - UNLV men's basketball freshman forward Anthony Bennett has been included in the 12-player Midseason Watch Lists for both the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's 2013 Oscar Robertson Trophy, presented by Aflac, which goes to the National Player of the Year, and the 2013 Integris Wayman Tisdale Award, which is given to the National Freshman of the Year. Both lists were announced Thursday by the USBWA.

Bennett, who was previously listed as a candidate for the Wooden Award when its Midseason Top 25 list was announced earlier this month, leads the Runnin' Rebels (17-4, 4-2 MW) and the Mountain West in scoring at 18.1 ppg, which ranks second among all freshmen in the nation.

The former McDonald's High School All-American scored in double figures in his first 17 collegiate games and has tallied 10 or more points in 19 of UNLV's 21 games overall this season. He has scored at least 20 points in 10 games this year and has led the Runnin' Rebels in scoring in 16 contests. The Brampton, Ontario, native has recorded eight double-doubles on the year and also leads the team in rebounding with 8.6 rpg and field-goal percentage at 54.9, ranking fifth and second in the Mountain West, respectively.

Members of the NABC's board of directors chose the players to be included on both lists as contenders for the awards. The Oscar Robertson Trophy will be presented to the National Player of the Year by its namesake at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award and the Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala, which is held annually on the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List includes two seniors, five juniors, three sophomores and two freshmen.