The Show a Finalist for Naismith Student Section of the Year

March 1, 2012

SAN DIEGO - San Diego State's student section, "The Show," is one of eight finalists for the 2012 Naismith Student Section of the Year award. Joining "The Show" are student sections from California, Colorado, Gonzaga, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas and Purdue.

The event is part of "I Love College Hoops," a nationwide effort to celebrate 100 years of college basketball. Open only to Division I basketball programs, the Naismith Student Section of the Year award winner will receive a $5,000 contribution to the school's athletic department.

Several rounds of voting determined the finalists for student section of the year. Round one included a public vote on the "I Love College Hoops" Facebook page that ended on Feb. 12. The top 16 vote getters entered a second round of competition with another public vote on Facebook that ran from Feb. 13-24.

The finalists have been forwarded to the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors for the final vote, which is based on student section attire, average attendance for the student section compared to overall seating capacity, video and photo submissions of the student section and other criteria. The winning student section will be announced later this month.