Miles, Eikmeier honored by USBWA

March 6, 2012

USBWA All-District Announcement

By Danny Mattie
Athletic Media Relations

FORT COLLINS, Colo. – Head Coach Tim Miles is on the verge of putting his name alongside legendary CSU coaches Jim “J.J.” Williams and Boyd “Tiny” Grant as the only mentors in program history to lead the Rams to three consecutive postseason berths. 

And on Tuesday morning, Miles’ name was put into a category with some of the game’s top current coaches, as the Rams’ fifth-year head coach joined the likes of Syracuse’s Jim Boeheim, Michigan State’s Tom Izzo and San Diego State’s Steve Fisher on the USBWA’s list of District Coaches of the Year.

Miles, who has led Colorado State to a 19-10 mark while playing the fourth-toughest schedule in the country as rated by the NCAA, was selected as the honoree from District VIII (Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada and Montana).

In addition to Miles’ honor, CSU first-team all-conference guard Wes Eikmeier was selected to the USBWA all-District VIII team, joining  Will Cherry (Montana), Drew Gordon (New Mexico), Noah Hartsock (BYU), Damian Lillard (Weber State), Michael Lyons (Air Force), Wendell McKines (New Mexico State), Mike Moser (UNLV), Andre Roberson (Colorado) and Malik Story (Nevada).

Joining Miles on the all-district coaching list are Harvard’s Tommy Amaker (District I), Boeheim (II), Virginia’s Tony Bennett (III), Steve Prohm of Murray State (IV), Izzo (V), Missouri’s Frank Haith (VI), Trent Haith of LSU (VII) and fellow MW mentor Fisher (IX).

It is the first USBWA all-district coaching honor for Miles, who was previously named the Mountain West Coach of the Year during the 2009-10 season.  In 2005-06, he was selected as the CBS Sportsline DI Independent Coach of the Year while at North Dakota State.

Eikmeier becomes the second CSU player in as many years to earn all-district honors, joining former teammate Andy Ogide